We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order at the counter and enjoy”
Review of Los Agaves

Los Agaves
Ranked #4 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Surprised not to see this on your web site - many people (myself included) consider it the best Mexican Food in Santa Barbara. Service also excellent, at least when they are not crowded, which the often are! Just down the street from another outstanding (but simpler) Mexican Restaurant, La Super-Rica Taqueria.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
217 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Order at the counter and enjoy”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

You will order at the counter and they will bring your food to the table. We entered and were immediately given 2 menus. There is a list of 10-15 specials on a large board behind and above the counter. We split the seafood enchiladas ($11) and they were very good. Many types of beer available. They have a salsa bar with many different types to try. The staff brought baskets of chips and salsa to our table. Our food arrived in 5 minutes. This is not a sit down and order restaurant; don't expect it to be. They are divided into 3-4 rooms in which to eat. Portions are very large, you may want to split.
Very nice/attentive staff. Will go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    245
    64
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“......pretty chill”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Thanks to TA (and Yelp) reviews decided to it a try. This was a pretty chill Mexican restaurant with counter service only. It had good menu choices, food presentation, clean, well maintained restaurant and good service. The only negative thing is that the restroom could've used some attention during my visit?? Overall, the rating was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as the reviews claim”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The reviews for this restaurant were so great that my boyfriend and I made sure to eat here while in Santa Barbara. Unfortunately, we were pretty disappointed. We're not picky eaters, but we were expecting a restaurant and this place seemed more like fast food. We ordered a starter to share, but all of the dishes arrived together...and literally 5 minutes after having ordered. The products seemed cheap and less than fresh. Plus, there were no margaritas. We definitely won't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanford E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Better get there early for dinner because this place fills up fast. A unique setup where you place your order at the counter then your food is brought to you. All the food is fresh and the portions are large. The fish tacos and flat-iron steak were delicious. Be sure to try the ceviche...it is big enough for an entree.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSFBigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just had a wonderful dinner at Los Agaves in Santa Barbara. Recommended by a local. Very casual, veyr high quality, fresh food. Service was very good. You order at the counter, sit at any table and your food is delivered very quickly to your table. Very high quality food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Agaves also viewed

 

Been to Los Agaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing