We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican Food”
Review of Los Agaves

Los Agaves
Ranked #4 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Surprised not to see this on your web site - many people (myself included) consider it the best Mexican Food in Santa Barbara. Service also excellent, at least when they are not crowded, which the often are! Just down the street from another outstanding (but simpler) Mexican Restaurant, La Super-Rica Taqueria.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Awesome Mexican food. It is self service, however waiters are very helpful once you have ordered! Well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ckath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    245
    64
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Creative taqueria”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We think this is much better than La Superica just a block away. Not everything is great, but most is. Fast service. Choice of salsas. Fair prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank winetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
422 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good Food, Surprising Setting”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We followed guidance from TA on this one and we never would have guessed from the reviews that there was no table service. You order at the counter and they deliver your order to your table.
The food was very good and filling. It has a very local following and is busy. It is a bit noisy and the tables can be quite close to one another. Great for take out I'm guessing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Went here based on TA rating & would highly recommend if in the area. Thought the chili poblano was excellent, carne asada on salad was very tasty as was the fish tacos. Lots of salsas to choose from.

Big servings, but still thought it a bit pricy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oh, Man! So good!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I ate here recently during a trip to SB and was a little hesistant because of the line at the counter. You have to order at the counter and then find a seat and the food is served to you at your table. It was very loud and crowded, and we almost left to find somewhere less busy, but the food going past us looked so amazing and was coming out so quickly that we decided to stay. What a great decision! Once we had placed out order and found a table, the food came out quickly and was so much more delicious than we expected. Everything is really fresh and flavorful, and they have some really interesting dishes on the menu. along with the normal mexican fare. The stuffed poblanos were exceptional, and the fresh tortillas are worth it all by themselves! I cant wait to go back and try something else because it was really hard to deicde what to order. Portions are large and prices are bargain for what you are getting. AWESOME!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honey805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Agaves also viewed

 

Been to Los Agaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing