We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't get it!”
Review of Los Agaves

Los Agaves
Ranked #4 of 531 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Surprised not to see this on your web site - many people (myself included) consider it the best Mexican Food in Santa Barbara. Service also excellent, at least when they are not crowded, which the often are! Just down the street from another outstanding (but simpler) Mexican Restaurant, La Super-Rica Taqueria.
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We don't get it!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Why are people lined up to eat here? It's hard to imagine that anyone would go out of his/her way to eat here or that anyone would rate this as excellent Mexican food. First of all, the restaurant does not feel clean, and the food does not pack any punch for flavor. We'd go in search of a Chipotle before returning to Los Agaves.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank capartyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    252
    64
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican fare!!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Of all the Mexican restaurants on Milpas St. (and there are quite a few!), this restaurant is my favorite. They offer a myriad of traditional Mexican dishes from all around the country, including a very tasty lengua, several mole dishes, halibut in a Vera Cruz sauce, and many savory pork dishes including my favorite, puerco pibil. The restaurant itself is absolutely beautiful, with colorful artwork depicting pastoral scenes and making me want to return to my favorite vacation spots. They are a wee bit on the pricey side for Mexican food, but you definitely get what you pay for here. I shall return again and again!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoshi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh Mexican food”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a very popular restaurant! On a Thursday evening at 7:00 the line was out the door and it didn't slow down for another hour. The waitstaff and owner did their best to help us find a table for our party, though. The service was great and the food wonderful. They want to please and if something needs to be fixed they make it right. The burritos were large and delicious.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No table service, but who cares”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

What great Mexican food. You go in, order at the counter and find a table. The staff is very friendly and the food is plentiful and delicious. I had a burrito with halibut and shrimp covered with a delicious chipotle sauce. My daughters refried beans were not the heavy, lard-laidened type, but delicious and light. Lots of seafood options on the menu.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDawg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great atmosphere, and good value”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

No need to book. Take your time reviewing the options, ask the staff to recommend, they will make a great choice if you tell them the things you like. Place your order at the counter and pay, you will then be giving a number and then wait to be seated. You can tip at the bar, if you have been pleased with the service.
We stayed at Santa Barbara Inn which is 6 blocks away up Milpas. You can walk it but would recommend you drive as you can park right outside.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Agaves also viewed

 

Been to Los Agaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing