We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great . ”
Review of Arch Rock Fish - CLOSED

Arch Rock Fish
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ortega and Cota on Anacapa
Description: Arch Rock is a Santa Barbara Restaurant that serves a variety of fresh, high - quality cuisine in a relaxed but casually elegant environment.
ventura
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good not great . ”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We went to dinner prior to a sunset sail. Dinner was good, borderline great. They were out of a couple of things and service was a bit slow. We would go back yet they could kick it up a notch.

Helpful?
Thank Travelchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    30
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a lovely lunch here. It is a great little place
Kris our waiter was so nice and one of the best we have come across. He is such a friendly guy,great asset to the place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 481JanD481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I have eaten here several times. They have taken fresh fish and shellfish items off the menu and happily said they now have more beef entries.

If I wanted beef I would go to a steakhouse. Being a former abalone diver from the 70's, I thought what a cool name for the arch at Anacapa Island part of the Channel Islands, on Anacapa street.

Since the new ownership has taken place a lot of the artwork especially the arch has been taken down. We were seated at the back part of the restaurant where they now have huge blackboards with nothing on them, and the walls were bare. I felt like I was almost part of the kitchen. The food was average and the waiter made me feel like we were not that important. However the hostess in the front was very friendly. I have previously had very good service and the food much better.

They are going to have to bring on a better plan if they want to survive. I do not think I will go back unless I read reviews of improvement.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Just Fish”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Arch Rock has been a favorite place for my wife and I since they opened. I was happy to find that they have expanded their selection of other dishes while keeping their array of fresh local sea food. My wife got the sea bass on a bed of tasty tamales, it was gorgeous. I had the braised short ribs with mascarpone polenta...fantastic. Service, quality and convenient location make Arch Rock a great place for a casual night out or to meet friends. They do get busy so a reservation is a good idea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Consistently good.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here lots - but usually for a weekend lunch - and it's always been really good. Great chicken tenders for the kids and fish tacos and fish & chips for the grown-ups. Clam chowder was really good with lots of clams.
I've recommended it over and over to my discerning friends. I'm sorry others have had mediocre experiences - but I'm still a fan.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arch Rock Fish also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing