We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't recommend this so called RV park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Barbara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Yes Judy is a nice lady but this park is horrible. The bathroom and showers are very dirty and don't appear to be maintained on a daily basis. After 5:00 there is no one available to help if you need some assistance. The location is in the middle of a neighborhood and next to the very noise 101 freeway. If you forget something you can walk to a nearby market in a not so safe or friendly neighborhood. The photos on their website do not represent this so called RV park and this is not a very good representation of the beautiful city of Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Tina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We turned up at Santa Barbara around 7pm on a Friday night recently. We hadn't booked partly because of the mixed trip advisor reviews. However we had failed to get in to the other RV parks on the way. We were so relieved to see there were spaces, the paperwork we needed was all neatly arranged outside the office for late arrivals to collect including the codes to the washrooms. We parked in #1 which was a big space. The washrooms and laundry were spotlessly clean and with good facilities. It is next to the Freeway, but we were not kept awake by freeway noise. It is not a destination in itself, but for a place to park safely with hook ups and washroom facilities it was excellent. Also had the best wifi provision of our two week trip, thank you.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank janet442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What I like about this RV Park is it's location and the honesty of the management.
Yes, there is some freeway noise, but it did not bother us...we were there to enjoy
our daughter who lives in Santa Barbara, so trotting 15 miles north or south was
not an option, therefore we thought we'd give it a try, even though their brochure
says they are near the freeway.. We stayed three nights before heading
to San Francisco. We didn't hesitate to come back a month later for another three nights before
leaving California.

When I say that I like the honesty of the management, there was no cover up about
the fact they were located next to Highway 101. So, we brought our orange ear plugs,
and didn't hear a thing, even with the windows open.

It's an older RV Park, and it is not intended to be a swanky RV resort, but we were treated
well, and we would return.. There is so much to see and do in Santa Barbara, there's no
reason to sit outdoors by the RV.

So, thank you, Sunrise, we appreciated being so close to where our daughter lives. Travelers
need not fear this RV Park based on bad reviews. But do remember that you may want to
pack your orange ear plugs. We would not leave home without them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingforfun38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

reviewed prior to reservations but not good enough. yes its fwy close meaning the off ramp is right where our spot was, #1; fwy noise, to sit outside not pleasant unless you like to watch the cars on fwy go by. to just park your motorcoach and get the heck out of there is suggested. told "just 13 blocks to ocean" what a joke thankfully we drove it first and honestly it is 25+ long "blocks" so quite a hike; surrounding neighborhood not good. Judy is really nice but we'll stay elsewhere next time. had checked other parks nearby but booked except 1 we called upon arriving here but had already pre-paid so....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I thought it was great! Laundry, Wi-Fi, clean bathrooms - and all for only $ 50 a night. The loudness people spoke of is utter nonsense. Located next to the freeway, but I could not even hear a car from my RV.

Well done Sunrise Park!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St0rman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is not the best park, but if you want to be in Santa Barbara and just have a base then it is fine. Site was only about 20% capacity when we visited so we probably had it ok - room to manoeuvre - and not many people using the shower blocks. ( there are only 4 - unisex - and at night the lights did not seem to work in 3 of them). To be honest we were there to visit family living in SB so it was just somewhere to sleep. It is right off the 101, but with ear plugs it was ok. The plus point is that you can walk to seafront in 15 mins and then catch the trolley along the front to state street etc. It also had bus routes passing by - although we didn't use the bus. WiFi worked fine. We had read the reviews and expected the worst so we were ok with what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Expensive and crappy...very loud all night...I would never stay there again... Go 15 minutes north or south and camp on the beach in carpenteria or el capitan. The prop manager Ron Lopez is mean and customer service is horrible. The bathrooms are dirty and there are only 2 for everyone in the campground so you could imagine how they look. The location is also in a "bad" part of town with gang graffiti and tattooed thugs all over. It seems like meth and theft are prevalent here. I'd personally rather camp at a Walmart any day of the week. Don't let them fool you on the phone, they sound nice but it's a real dump!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rvguy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
9.9 mi away
Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort
Rancho Oso RV & Camping Resort
#1 of 17 in Santa Barbara
479 reviews
3.5 mi away
AutoCamp Santa Barbara
AutoCamp Santa Barbara
#4 of 17 in Santa Barbara
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
506 reviews
2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Sunrise RV Park

Address: 516 S Salinas St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2979
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Santa Barbara
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of this family owned park. Located on the west side of Montecito, near the Milpas shopping district in the City of Santa Barbara. We offer convenient, comfortable RV sites with friendly, dependable service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Sunrise Rv Park Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing