We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jane

Jane
Reserve with OpenTable
Jane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 526 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jane is a family owned and operated business.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were staying at the Cheshire Cat Inn and arived late so did not want to walk far. The menu at Jane looked nice so we gave it a try, really great food and welcoming polite staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    136
    30
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great food, friendly service. My friend had the McMurray (as in Fred from "My Three Sons") Chardonnay and loved it. Ate here with my a friend and our two teenage daughters. Everyone loved what they ordered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nrmrdaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good value, with reasonable pricing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had an enjoyable meal at Jane's. Pricing was very reasonable, and the food was good. Busy when diners are rushing to eat before a show. Service was very good, with a lot of attention given for drinks etc. Food was not exceptional or inspiring but competent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hardenedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply delicious nice and easy lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Jane located in the very competitive area of state Street situated between a legendary Downey's of Santa Barbara and Opal. However, she holds herself up pretty well. The lunch menu is simple but delicious especially the linguini Vongole. The taste had a slightly daze of sour white wine either suavignon blanc or other , it gave a refreshing taste to the palate. The pasta was cooked very well and the calm was cooked just right. The next dish was the local sea bass which was OK but uneventful. The desserts were also good. I had a cinnamon apple pound cake which was moist and not too sweet. My wife had a Jane Sunday which was very rich. The service was very professional. Running by all girls, I had noticed that all girls never stop either running or doing anything. They were very active which was a good sign of a good restaurant. Try it out if you are in the vicinity. Price is also very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wachi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm food but COLD service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lovely restaurant and good food, not mind blowing just good (I had the chops and salad) - but I can't get past the unwelcoming hostess we were met with - the servers don't get many points either. The part that threw me off is the cute chalkboard sign and country flowers outside the restaurant - all very charming and the room casually upscale.
Not sure how I put off the gal, their were three open tables in view but we still waited outside until she was ready to seat us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 00MVCA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing