We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food, service and atmosphere”
Review of Jane

Jane
Reserve with OpenTable
Jane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Jane is a family owned and operated business.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Quiet and understated from the outside, this is a warm and friendly little restaurant with an excellent menu. Service was quick and efficient without being pushy. Wife had the coconut cake which apparently was a house speciality - she still hasn't stopped raving about it so take it that it was very good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    143
    30
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, CA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gen”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We tried this restaurant based on reviews on this site, and we were certainly glad we did! Jane is a bistro style place with both indoor and outdoor seating, and they serve both lunch and dinner. We were there for lunch, but we decided to have our main meal of the day at that time. So I had the sea bass with a lemon caper sauce special served over a yummy white bean mixture. My husband started with the red onion rings and then had whitefish with a cucumber dill sauce. Both were excellent... flavorful and beautifully presented. We had wine by the glass, and there were lots of choices, most from local wineries in the area. We didn't have room for the well-reviewed coconut cake, but it sure looked yummy passing by. The folks who own this place also own Montecito Cafe where we have eaten many times on our visits, and we will most definitely continue to patronize both of them in the future for their fine fare.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything we tasted was delicious!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our server was excellent--I love when a server will truly give you opinions, and isn't afraid to make recommendations when you ask! Ours did, and he got it right every time!

The Firestone rings were a yummy indulgence, with a great dipping sauce. He recommended the rack of lamb special--if they have it, and you're a lamb fan, don't miss it! The sea bass was also good. The au gratin potatoes they served with our entrees were fabulous, and NOT drowning in cheese, just very flavorful.

We ordered the coconut cake, based on reviews we'd read, and it was really, really good. BUT, based on our server's recommendation, and his 2 for 2 to that point with the rings and the lamb, we ordered the most amazing sundae I've ever had! It was vanilla ice cream with bits of homemade toffee and caramel sauce. Ohhh, I want to go back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coconut cake!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a lovely little bistro in downtown Santa Barbara which is open for lunch as well as dinner. Great salads, burgers, and more hearty entrees. The soups are always interesting and good, too. And the crowning touch is the wonderful coconut cake on the dessert menu. It is not to be missed!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClaireVanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food, amazing atmosphere. Best of all, Jane's Toffee Sundae! We ordered one to share, but regretted not ordering one each. Looking forward to returning just so we can have our own pudding.

Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing