We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy and delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backyard Bowls

Backyard Bowls
Ranked #7 of 26 Dessert in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Healthy and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great selection of smoothies, juices, and breakfast bowls. So healthy and so delicious. No wonder it is always so busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BCruick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, healthy, great value breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We found Backyard Bowls when doing the Savor Food Tour (also highly recommended) and loved it so much returned next day for breakfast. Lovely to not have a side of fried potatoes for once. Great value, lots of fruit and frozen acai berry mix which was yum!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawny_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad just nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Unfortunately the criteria for rating fine restaurants falls into the same category as a place that sells frozen Acai bowls with chopped up, often times non organic fruit piled on some sugar packed granola, so it really makes the ratings irrelevant at times. If you think this is really healthy dining dream on. Give them lots of fructose and granola and they will come.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hearty & Heathy in a Big Bowl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Backyard Bowl delivers great combos of oatmeal or granola or quinoa with all sorts of fruit toppings and blend ins. They also have great smoothies. If you're in a hurry they have an app so you can plan an order to pick up with precision. Great concept and done right!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyMeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy Acai bowls for the entire family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I love to fill my belly. Even the small bowls at Backyard Bowl accomplish my primary objective. It's not often that my wife, daughter and I all find agreeable food items. At Backyard we all found flavorful, refreshing, and filling items. My wife and daughter loved the island bowl, I went with the hemp bowl. You can't really go wrong with any of the acai options. It's pretty tough to screw up acai, but Backyard offers a great version of acai and their granola and fresh fruit are on point.

CAUTION - I warn you that you'll fill up with the small bowls. We saw 5 teenagers struggle to put down the large bowls after arriving from some kind of a team practice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jrhinomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Bowls also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Backyard Bowls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing