We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what's all the fuss?”
Review of Le Petit Valentien

Le Petit Valentien
Ranked #47 of 534 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“what's all the fuss?”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pleasant quaint atmosphere. Grandma would probably love it except for the hard benches. The heavy decorative kitchen items on shelves overhead of the seating area were a bit off-putting since we live in earthquake country, but a bike helmet would probably do. Bring one for Grandma. Food was "good", but not enough to incline me to return, salmon was served a bit undercooked. Wine list offered by the glass was mediocre. Our waitress wasn't exactly warm and fuzzy, going through the motions and forgetting the dessert we ordered. You get the impression it's just another day at the 'old Bistro. Ho-hum. There's other restaurants in Santa Barbara I'll take my out of town friends to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    60
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Paris in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

What a delight. This wonderful bistro, tucked in an alley, serves authentic, refined bistro fare.

They make wonderful use of the small, superbly decorated space while serving up exquisite dishes. The grilled pork chop was the best I've had and the other two diners were similarly impressed.

Le Petit Valentien is the best French bistro I have enjoyed in the US.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have eaten at Le Petit Valentien many times and it has always been very good. Today it was just okay. My soup was tasty but really too salty and so was the sauce on my steak. The meat was good but came with one bite of potato for $19 for lunch. For that price , it should have been delicious--- including the sauce! The service was excellent but it took over an hour for us to get our main courses which was fine because we were visiting with friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Getting a good dinner is relatively easy. Getting the perfect, relaxed, just the right amount of food/drink/service lunch is more difficult. This place was perfect, a real treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John-cosham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
774 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Always great good and wine”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Been to this restaurant several times over the last year but this last time was incredible. The Elk special is the best I have every had and paired perfectly with the wine they selected. I usually have the duck from regular menu which is also great.

The salads, desserts and wine list are also great.

This is a must try place if you like french type food.

It is a great atmosphere and a good place for a business dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig-World-Travelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Valentien also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Le Petit Valentien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing