We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food with excellent service and top value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Valentien

Le Petit Valentien
Ranked #51 of 528 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food with excellent service and top value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Thanks Trip Advisor for getting us here. We had an excellent meal with a shared mushroom crostini, radicchio salads with shaved Parmesan and for me pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon and for my wife seared salmon over sauté of spinach. An excellent Pinot Blanc from Alsace. Service was welcoming and everything nicely paced. Where can you get such a nice meal for $100 plus tip? Do yourself a favor try it. The local folks seem to know this gem based on the crowd there. We'll be
back when in Santa Barbara.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PPosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    54
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Make A Reservation - You'll Need One”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a small, well-run pleasant French Café. We enjoyed the service and the food, and would go back again.

We saw a few walk-ins get turned away on a Saturday night, so call ahead for a reservation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food with French charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I found the restaurant by chance down a quiet lane just off State Street and was attracted to the quiet ambiance and a lunch menu that included lighter offerings with a French flavour. I ordered an excellent soup of field mushrooms with a hint of wine in the broth and the house pates. With a bottle of sparkling water and coffee to follow, it was all excellent and a great value. The service was attentive and prompt without being rushed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Le Petit Valentin was an excellent choice for a special night out, with it's warm and romantic atmosphere and location. They offer a well thought out menu that samples some wonderful French cuisine. We were quite pleased with our appetizer and entrees, and pleasantly surprised at the reasonable prices. The service was excellent as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al_d555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale, ca
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Ethiopian menu sometimes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is the second time I have had lunch here. The first time I had some excellent French dishes and looked forward to returning. However, the restaurant now offers only a small Ethiopian menu at lunchtime on Saturdays and Sundays.

From the Ethiopian menu this time, I tried the seared beef ($10) and a split pea side dish ($6). They seemed OK but not tasty or notable. If I go back, I will make sure they are serving the French menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glendale-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Valentien also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
 

Been to Le Petit Valentien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing