We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wonderful property. Built long ago but everything is kept new and beautiful giving the resort an unbelievable feeling of steadiness and warmth. Staff was terrific, Helpful and friendly without the least bit of attitude you might come across at very high end properties like this. We also enjoyed the beach club which has great views of the shore, a great pool and a super restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the smaller detached villas and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons Santa Barbara on our way home from Big Sur this week and were very pleased. From the moment we entered the hotel, we experienced phenomenal service. It was the perfect way to end our mini vacation along the California coast. This experience was so much better than our previous stay, about a year earlier. I am glad we came back to this lovely hotel.

Everyone at the front desk was nice, welcoming, and helpful. Our room had an ocean view and was gorgeous. When we got to the room, we were pleasantly surprised with a bottle of champagne and a small cake sent from the manager, Michael Mestraud, to celebrate my birthday. It was a nice touch! We spent the evening walking down the ocean path in front of the resort and enjoying tapas at Ty Lounge. The next morning, we walked to breakfast at Jeaninne's and then soaked up the sun at the Coral Casino Beach Club. I loved having the list of resort activities in the room, although we didn't have time to do much since we only stayed one night this trip.

The manager, Michael Mestraud, has gone above and beyond to make us feel welcome at his property. With outstanding representatives like him, the Four Seasons brand continues to shine. Whether vacationing in Santa Barbara, Lanai, or Hawaii, I know that the Four Seasons will live up to its name and provide an excellent experience. Thank you, Michael Mestraud and staff, for an amazing stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grlgrdgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The rooms are excellent--large and spacious with a fireplace. A short walk from the front drive to the beach, and hotel guests are able to use the beach club across the street. The pool on the hotel grounds themselves is a bit small, but relaxing. The larger pool at the club is better suited to accommodate multiple guests at a time. All of the things you'd expect from a FS are here: immaculate grounds, friendly service, well-informed concierge. The town itself closes relatively early, so the concierge desk helped in selecting places to dine that were amicable with our overall schedule. If you have time, I'd recommend arranging a trip to visit some of the vineyards an hour or so away from the property (the hotel has a number of options available).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewbC4950NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend about two months ago. Very enjoyable place with beautiful grounds and a good location. Breakfast was very tasty and I enjoyed my snacks at the hotel bar in the evening. All in all, I think this is definitely a great choice for Santa Barbara, although it is rather pricey.

A couple of negatives: Bar was nice but a bit loud. There was a surgeon's conference there, so not sure if that is a common thing, but given that the hotel is set up for conferences, I'm assuming it is. Also, valet was very busy and quite disorganized. Nevertheless, I greatly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just finished our 20 person company retreat at the Four Seasons, and our groups comments were mostly outstanding. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for:
The Late 20's architecture exudes a classic timeless feel, the grounds and gardens are lush, and wonderful to walk around. The staff and service for the hotel were excellent, as you would expect, and very friendly. The hotel had a renovation about a decade ago, bringing up the rooms to more current amenity standards.

Self Parking on site (lots around the back side) is expensive, even more if you use Valet. We never had a problem finding a space however.

Some of our upgraded rooms included access to the Beach Club across the street, some did not. It was $200 a day to use the Beach and Cabana Club if not included, way to expensive for day use. The main hotel has heated pools, a Spa, and a work out room, which are all fine. Tip: if you do use the Coral Beach and Cabana Club - go upstairs on the roof deck and have a sunset cocktail (have their Blood Orange Margharita!) - incredible view of the Beach and Santa Barbara in the distance!

We had one dinner at the Tydes restaurant, across the street and upstairs at the beach club.
Tip: Prices look outrageous, until you learn they are inclusive of tip and tax. Food very good, view incredible.

The main hotel restaurant is the Bella Vista. Outside seating is spectacular, breakfast and lunch are served there. We had our final dinner here, and the food was great - prices were fine, (not overly priced), but the service was terrible. There was a wedding the same night, and we think half the staff was over there. Incredibly disappointing, The good food and the wine kept us calm, but upon reflection, almost everyone was disappointed with the lack of service. (we found ourselves getting our own wine and water at times) Not good.

If you are booking a conference room, try to get one with the ocean views. This was a must for our group, being able to stretch and look at the Ocean. The inside conference rooms are not as nice, don't recommend.

In summation, it's expensive, but very old world elegant and classy. Service and staff was top notch, other than the terrible dinner service our last night. I would highly recommend for your small company meeting or retreat!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back do hear the trains more, but not much you (or they) can do about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricksteveswannabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I brought our dog for a one night stay. We loved it very much. We had booked a deluxe room and it was perfect for a dog. We had dinner at the on site restaurant and had brunch in the morning. We really enjoyed it! Staff was really nice. We had a nice walk on the beach in the morning. Overall, would love to stay there again. We had a great rate as I had won a silent auction . The train didn't bother us. The only thing I would add to the room is an additional chair (there was only 1) or a couch. We felt the room was very private, we were told the hotel was at 92% capacity, but we never felt crowded at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

You'll like it. The breakfast buffet team for our meeting was outstanding. Our sit-down banquet for ~45 was excellent. Several excellent restaurants were within 45 minute walks of the hotel. Pretty people were everywhere. We had a good time.

Room Tip: We liked our huge second floor room with a fire place and its view of the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,057 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
3.8 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
575 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $536 - $1,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing