We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I, along with our five children stayed at Four Season's last week.
I can't rate it highly enough. From the moment we arrived, until we left i found the staff to be extremely polite and attentive.
We had a couple of drinks in the bar prior to dinner, the bar staff were also very attentive, and the cocktails were not short on alcohol content!!!!!
After drinks, as we had been driving all day, (and then drinking) we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We ordered many different dishes, including quite a lot of tapas. The waitress was great, but basically didn't know anything about the tapas dishes. She openly admitted she didn't know about them, which actually made us laugh. At least she was honest! All food was of a high quality and yummmmyyyy!!!!!
The hotel grounds are gorgeous and the location beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

If money is no object, then it would be tough to find anything objectionable about this resort. The private cottages on the property really give you the feeling of privacy and tranquility. The beds and linens are probably more comfortable and lush than most people have in their homes. The location is just steps from the Pacific Ocean. The food in the hotel and nearby (just across the street is the Coral Casino private club) is high quality. If you really want to get away and REST, this resort could be just what you are looking for...

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage that is not too far from the lobby. When it gets dark, you'll need a flashlig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was a special occasion and at $1000 a night along with it being an American Express Centurion booking we expected a lot better. But first the positives; the property is beautiful, the grounds a work of art with some amazing history, as is the architecture. The Coral Casino (private pool club) across the road is equally magnificent and like a bridge to a bygone era of style. We had a great NYE dinner under the stars too. The problems were our room was very average, no view or outlook, a tiny unusable balcony (and no Centurion upgrade, which I accept is never guaranteed). They missed one room clean, one turndown and we got no water or newspapers on two days. Worse, they ruined a surprise birthday dinner by sending the envelope from concierge to the wrong person. There was a half hearted apology on last day from the Coral Casino manager who didn't seem to grasp it wasn't appropriate to go in to details when you were just out of the pool and in front of family. Best summed up by his comment 'well if you need to, ring the GM'. While we paid a premium to get access to pool, on check out the gentlemen next to me was comp'd due to his complaint about the pool access policy. The lack of consistency is therefore poor. A great shame as the property has all the hallmarks of being truly great. But we will stay elsewhere next time and encourage you to do the same.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank EK201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just spent 3 nights here. Everyone was very friendly. The hotel was unique, unlike any other hotel we stayed in. It's spread out with paths to all the guest rooms. I honestly kept getting lost (wish there were a few more signs)...took me probably 4 times to learn my way back to my room! But it was a nice walk among a tropical setting.

The room was very roomy, dare I say large. We had 2 queen beds, a small walk-in closet, a nice sized bathroom. We had a small balcony but never used it since our view was of the dumpster. But that's okay- I didn't need a view or balcony.

The valet guys were awesome- so friendly & always interested in hearing about our day, what we did, where we ate & gave us pointers.

The BEST part of the hotel to me was the location. Right across a small street with light traffic was the beach. We sat outside both morning & night on the wall that ran along the beach to enjoy the sunrise/sunset. Loved how active it got- people brought their dogs to play on the beach, lots of runners/walkers. We enjoyed a nice walk one morning.

Only thing that "let me down" & I say that not because I was upset, just surprised- there was only 1 restaurant & 1 gift shop on the property. I expected to see at least 1 more dining option to grab a quick snack or quick breakfast. We only ate t the restaurant once for breakfast- it was just ok, nothing spectacular, but it had a gorgeous view!

Oh & the last thing- the pool. It's a quiet pool, one for relaxing at, not one with lots of entertainment for kids. Which was fine, we had teenage boys with us. But we only sat out there for 10 minutes- they said it was too quiet for them! Haha. It's an adult pool- would be great if you were without kids (or teens) & just read/relaxed! I'm sure that's what it was designed for.

Overall we had a wonderful experience here! We easily traveled from this location to different parts of CA for day trips- Santa Ynez, Malibu, Similar Valley (Reagan Library).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank bkdj96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our drive down the California coast. The property is beautiful, the service is courteous, but we were disappointed with how the hotel handled an issue with our room.

The first room we were provided was spacious but very poorly situated, the windows looked out directly at the car park. And this was meant to be a premium room.

We asked to be moved and eventually were. The new room we were escorted to had a lovely fruit and chocolate plate and a bottle of champagne! Very classy gesture indeed. However, it turned out that these offerings were not for us and the hotel came by and collected them forthwith. Cheesy...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Circus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in 1-Br suite while staying here. The staff was incredibly helpful as we travel with our 1-year old. Crib, baby tub, fridge all setup prior to us arriving. We needed milk to feed her and within 10 minutes they were at our door with it. Additionally what's nice is the suites have a very large living area with a seperate entrance/exit for the bedroom. That way you can get room service etc. after the kids go to sleep. The property itself is about 10 minutes to downtown Santa Barbara and is close to all the area attractions. It's beautifully situated overlooking the water. If you are looking for a modern, upscale hotel this is not your property....if you want a quaint cottage-like atmosphere it's fantastic. The rooms could use a bit of updating (the curtains had a small hole in them) but generally speaking we enjoyed our time here very much. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Four Seasons is a very reputable chain of resorts. This does not meet my low expectations. At other locations of the Four Seasons, they are trying to make your stay perfect. Normally, if they over-hear that you have a plan for the next day, they’ll bring you directions to your destination. I’m not expecting for The Biltmore to through a soiree for my arrival, but is it unreasonable to ask for our food to be brought to the table within one hour and forty-five minutes? The waiters at Bella Vista were unable to accommodate to our needs. We booked more than five rooms for our family at the Four Seasons to celebrate New Years, they clearly didn’t take this into account-- considering the service that we received. We dined at this restaurant several times. The only mediocre (not terrible) service we received was with the valet-- who remembered our last name, they were a little bit snobby at the same time.

Now, the Coral Casino. Prior to our visit, we saw the Four Seasons’ beautiful olympic swimming pool, which laid right behind Santa Barbara’s beautiful ocean. The Four Seasons advertised the Coral Casino to be their pool inside the resort-- which is right to some extent. It turns out that the pictures where at the Coral Casino, which is right across the street. (NO.. The Coral Casino is not an actual casino.) This was not a problem, simply walking across the street. We entered the Coral Casino, which contained; the pool, their beautiful view, the poolside restaurant, and Tydes. When we entered the premises, the lady at the front desk shouted, “Excuse me, get back here!” She asked if we were hotel guests or members of the club, we told her that we were simply hotel guests. She asked for our last name and claimed that it was not in the system. We gave her our Four Seasons Passport, our form of authentication at The Biltmore. It explicitly stated that we had access to these facilities. (e.g. Fitness centers, Coral Casino, etc...) She denied this form of authentication. She said that she was able to look up our last name in the system. She said that she called over to the front desk and we were all set. Right when we were about to leave she said, “Are you aware of our $200/per person/per day surcharges?” We responded, “Excuse me?” She repeated herself. We got very frustrated with her and we said, “Are you aware we have five rooms at the hotel?” After...we were finally able to access the premises. They claimed they ‘settled the situation.’ Our question is, what does this mean?

After, we had a good time at the Coral Casino. The poolside restaurant is decent and Tydes is fantastic. The pool has beautiful ocean view. We went out to the ocean and we were locked out! We had to keep knocking on the glass to get a fellow guest to open the door up for us. Not to mention, in the hot tub, some college kids were causing lots of chaos.

The guests at The Biltmore were rather obnoxious and had very rude children. The hotel is actually dog friendly, which is truly terrible for guests. Barking, barking, and barking... Why isn’t this hotel called “The Biltmore and Kennel?”

As for the room, the decor was outdated and the beds felt as hard as a rock. The beds were extremely uncomfortable-- the mattress, comforter, and pillow. Terrible.

The housekeeping isn’t to my satisfaction either, the room was extremely dusty.

What’s best about The Biltmore? The location, it’s located in beautiful Montecito. Yes, Montecito. It isn’t as advertised on their website & marketing. Apparently, it’s on the ‘cusp’ of the border.

Don’t stay at The Biltmore is the bottom line, my friend.

Room Tip: Bring pillows and a comforter... unless you want to sleep in their ‘hospital’ beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Reid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
3.8 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
523 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $611 - $1,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing