We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Pinecrest, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I don't know if it was more the architectural charm, the lighting and the weather in Santa Barbara, the service or the location of the resort, but certainly all contributed to the magnificent stay that we had at the Four Seasons / Biltmore in Santa Barbara. The trip was a combination of business meetings and play, and the hotel catered to both in a fabulous way. A plus was the ability to use the Coral casino Beach and Cabana Club across the street (no gambling - just in the name). We will certainly return and cannot wait!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalileoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,334
    270
    114
    51
    37
See reviews for
476
797
47
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

In addition to this property being beautiful and immaculate, we experienced possibly the best service of anywhere we have ever been. EVERYONE from the bell person greeting us at the entrance to the maid who tended our room was incredibly kind and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and welcoming. The wait staff in the dining room made a special point of remembering our names so the next time we would arrive for our meals, they knew us. Nothing was too much to ask for. If you didn't like the vegetable or starch provided with your entree, we were asked what we would prefer instead, and we were ALWAYS accomodated with such. The "bonus" cabana club and private beach across the street were plus pluses to this lovely experience. I HIGHLY recommend this property. We can't wait until we return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninonote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a beautiful historic property built in the 1920s that was acquired by the Four Seasons and renovated. For that reason, it's worth a visit if you are traveling to California and really want to get a taste of Spanish colonial style architecture. The property has a lot of character and I applaud the Four Seasons for not trying to transform it into a nondescript modern-day resort property. However, for that reason, it also feels outdated; the floorboards creak, the walls are thin, there is a sense that the place has seen better days. You just can't win it all.

That being said, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The service was impeccable. There are little touches where the Four Seasons hospitality really shines through. For example, we arrived on my child's birthday; the front desk immediately arranged for a birthday cake and gift of fruits, snacks, and a Four Seasons beach mat to be delivered to the room. The bathroom has wipes to remove tar that you might step on at the beach. They put ear plugs in the closet in case the train bothers you. They had free coffee and tea in the morning, chilled waters in the gym, and bowls of apples scattered around the property. The hotel had light activities for the guests (e.g., margarita tasting one afternoon, games of croquet every afternoon, smores a few evenings for the kids, etc.). I recommend taking the garden tour as the grounds have a large variety of plants, old trees, and an organic herb garden which supplies herbs for the kitchen. Our guide, who has worked there a long time, knew about every plant there and what was easy to grow in the climate. The Coral Casino beach club across the street is a great place to hang out. There, you can swim in a large pool (laps if you're serious or a separate roped off section for kids), walk down to the beach, or just lounge in the sun with an oceanfront view. (By the way, you won't see the sun set over the water because the coast line faces south at that location). You can play foos-ball and ping pong there too. The locker room is gorgeous!

At the main resort, there is a small 24 hour gym with water in the fridge, gatorade, headphones, and apples; pool for the kids; and two hot tubs set at different temperatures.(warm for families, hot for adults only). There are tennis courts but I believe you have to pay court fees. There are nice walking trails all around the grounds and along the coast. Kid for All Seasons was closed during the time we were there which was too bad; we would have liked to go in just to play games or watch movies even if child care was not provided.

Re: food - It is really expensive to eat at the property. A short drive away will take you to a nearby street called Coast Village Road with great little restaurants including a breakfast/gourmet sandwich shop named Jeannines, and a Mexican place called Los Arroyos.

Room - we had an executive suite which was comfortable but the bed was a little on the soft side. If you are sensitive to noise, request a room that is away from the conference area. Usually the noise dies down after business hours, but I was awoken a few mornings at 7:30 because our room overlooked the courtyard by one of the conference rooms. Bathroom had radiant heated floors which was a nice touch, and a rather roomy bath tub with separate shower. It was outfitted in Spanish tile to match the character of the buildings.

All in all, Santa Barbara is a slow-paced, coastal city and we returned from our stay there feeling (and looking, or so we were told) completely relaxed and recharged. Because we weren't running around trying to do a lot of things, we spent a lot of time together as a family, and the large property was conducive to just hanging out with the kids. It is pricey and not a good "value" - but then again, if your objective is just relaxing and staying at a beautiful oceanfront place with excellent service, this would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is away from the conference rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CAWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amazing incredible stay. Beautiful room - fantastic service. We loved it! It was such a peaceful place to spend our babymoon. We went during a "stay nights and get the 3rd one free" - so it was a great deal as well. It was quiet and completely luxurious. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaNY212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Resort. We’re delighted to hear that you spent your “babymoon” with us and that you were able to enjoy your time before the arrival of your little one. I want to wish you well and hope that we can welcome you back again as a family!

Warm Regards,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
p. (805) 565-8202
e. Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, however the hotel is outdated and the rooms need a refurb. The rooms are noisy and don't have any sound proofing - we could hear people walking into their rooms at 2 am and our room door shook as other people opened their doors!

We were asked on check in if we wanted an upgrade to a sea view room for $50, which we accepted and then had to wait 2 hours for our room, making check in 4.30 when we were only staying for 1 night. Upon checkout this showed on our bill as an extra $185 which was only honoured after a referral to the supervisor. Also wifi was charged to the room after this had been agreed that this had been included.

Overall we were disappointed and would not return to this hotel. Poor service and they only seem to be interested if you are on a conference or spending big $$. Not worth the money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Resort. I'm sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your time here. I've noted the noise issue that you mentioned and appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continuously improve on our guests' overall experience. I apologize for the disruption and hope that you will consider a future stay with us. I would welcome the chance to speak with you further.

Sincerely,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
p. (805) 565- 8202
e. Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived late after a difficult travel day and were relieved to see the cot we requested ready for our child. Room service was fresh and prompt - best fresh squeezed orange juice ever. Our very clean, recently renovated room was right by front entrance/valet and I wondered if it might be noisy though it was surprisingly quiet - woke up to the sound of the ocean.

Coming from a very snowy winter, we were excited to find that the courtyard pool area among the main buildings is lush, sheltered and much warmer than the beach. Great walking path in front of hotel where our child watched dolphins swim off shore and tracked a tiny bunny through the flowered shrubs: magical Easter treat!

Well worth the expense. Wish we had stayed longer, would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
318 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. The property is well located on the cost, the cottages are very private and nice. The only negative would be the operation of the Bella Vista restaurant, which was not up to the standards of the Four Seasons. We had service problems at breakfast on our first day and dinner there was not memorable. The lunch on the restaurant's patio was fine. The lounge was very good for service as well as offerings. Only other negative, a rail line next to the property wakes one up just before 7 AM each morning!

Room Tip: Cottages are very private; we enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.8 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Property: Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing