We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay in Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family (kids 14 and 16) stayed here for a few nights at the end of a California trip, and it was perfect. The grounds are gorgeous, with several incredible old trees on site that amazed us. We appreciated the botanical guide book provided at check-in. The hotel itself has a beautiful old mission feel. The kids also liked the very large hot tubs, each at a different temperature, and the access to the Coral Casino club across the street. The room and amenities are first class, as one would expect at a Four Seasons. Each employee we met was exceedingly polite and courteous; there was even a birthday cake for my daughter in our room when we first arrived! The beach was great for early morning strolls, and only a two minute walk from the hotel. Great stay overall.

The only negative was the lack of free wifi, which seemed very outdated and odd in such an upscale resort. Even most entry-level motels offer free wifi now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traverlqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    279
    118
    56
    40
See reviews for
494
835
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

First of all, we had no major problems during our stay here. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. That said, we only stayed for one night, and that was enough for us.

The hotel is old. The Premier Room we stayed in had a nice patio near a small pond that runs outside the pool area, but there was a definite musty smell (to not just our room, but the entire hotel.) There is no noise proofing and and the noise in the hallways is loud. The bathroom was of average size but there were hairs on several of the towels and a dirty spot on one of them. Otherwise the room was fine, the bed comfy enough. The TV was small and the minibar somewhat difficult to open with the key provided (the furniture was also old.)

We met some local friends at the outdoor bar area. We were seated and told someone would come to take our drink order. 30 minutes passed while waiters went to all the other tables and overlooked us - we were sitting right in the middle. Finally we flagged someone down, and while she wasn't rude, she wasn't overly friendly either.

All in all, I'm not exactly sure what about this property qualifies as luxury. We do like the Four Seasons brand and have stayed at a number of them around the world, but this is definitely not one of their top properties.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A_Little_Tripsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very nice older hotel. However, no HDTV anywhere on the property. It's 2013 please update. Breakfast is excellent. Great healthy options. Other than the lack of HDTV this is a fine hotel. I also don't understand why a 5 star hotel must charge any price for wifi. Just doesn't make sense.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emjar1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
180 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent the last few days of our Southern California vacation here. Our cottage 90 was perfect for us with two boys, a babysitter and a dog. The grounds are lovely and i love the old world feeling. My 8 year old loved the speakers in pool that play music underwater. In-room dining was just ok. Tydes had a pretty view and some dishes are excellent. Loved the Coral Casino access with the large pool and view of the ocean. Walked dog on beach. We spotted Whales, dolphins and seals from the beach. Staff was so kind and attentive. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Get a cottage but not too close to croquet court as that may be noisy. Train noise was not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Resort. I'm thrilled that you and your family (including your dog) had an enjoyable visit in the cottages! It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of all that we have to offer to our guests and that you appreciate the aesthetics of our unique property. I especially like that you got to see our local wild life! It sounds like the kids had fun and I look forward to welcoming everyone back upon your next stay in Santa Barbara.

Sincerely,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
p. (805) 565-8202
e. Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a beautifully appointed accommodation at Santa Barbara. The grounds are well manicured and so well attended. For Australians visiting, check out the Morton Bay Fig, which is over 200 years old, and originated in Australia. This establishment is styled in a spanish mission. Staff and accommodating and very pleasant. Rooms are well appointed. The use of the club opposite adds extra to this hotel, which the use of their pool and restaurant facilities. Try a spa treatment, one of the best I have ever had. Perhaps a little pricy, but worth every single cent. The in house restaurant was also a good place to eat, both for breakfast and dinner. A great place to have a few days of r and r, prior to flying out of Los Angeles, and much nicer than Santa Monica, Venice Beach areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

It seems they are happiest when they have large groups of loud convention-goers or wedding guests milling around. Rooms need updating (our mattress was so old it had a ridge in the middle) they charge for wifi and the cell service is very poor, restaurant staff inept, food mediocre.
Beautiful grounds, lovely setting but needs total shape-up. We would not return.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Indian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory and that our corporate or wedding guests may have disrupted your time with us. I appreciate the feedback on your bed and our staff, thank you for bringing these to my attention. It's helpful in that it allows me to follow up as part of the process of continuously improving and exceeding guests' expectations. I hope that one day we can change your impression with an improved experience. In the meantime, I welcome the opportunity to speak with you further, please feel free to call me anytime.

Sincerely,
Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
p. (805) 565-8202
e. Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This classic resort is the perfect, private place for a romantic getaway. There are great beach walks and views. The rooms were utterly quiet. The staff was helpful but not intrusive. The gardens and buildings were wonderful. The hotel is also in walking distance to Montecito restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.8 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
3.8 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Property: Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing