We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is an Incredible Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
ST ALBERT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is an Incredible Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

In all respects, the facilities, service level etc, etc, were the best I have ever had. Really no compaints. This is a beautiful facilty. Would stay here again no problem. While the prices at the restaurant and lounge were up there, that's commensurate with the quality of food and quality of service. The locale is also close to the most attractive parts of Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riderbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    270
    115
    51
    37
See reviews for
477
799
47
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Two-day stay at the Resort was wonderful. Service and amenities are excellent and extra treats were provided for our celebration. Only disappointment was the Bella Vista Restaurant - ambiance was great, but the food was rather bland. Breakfast buffets and lunch at the Casino Restaurant were very good.

Room Tip: Many deluxe rooms are offered with a deck. These decks are rather dark, so it may be better to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharedexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently visited this hotel on business but stayed longer......for the fun of it. A beautiful property with the best in Four Seasons service. Service was exceptional whether it was at front desk, bell service, spa or restaurants. It is definitely on my list to re-visit soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

What can I say but the perfect Santa Barbara experience! Love the location right on Butterfly Beach, a short walk to the quaint town of Montecito, a nice bike ride to the pier for lunch. There are a couple of pool options. If you want to be on the beach with more of a crowd you have the beach club across the street or on site is a small quieter pool which I love. There is poolside food and drink service at both. We had a wonderful fireplace room looking over the front lawn to Butterfly Beach with a nice private patio. This is a special place to get away to! We enjoy the restaurants as well. There are alot of nearby places to eat and if you like a little shopping, it is just blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived here for a 2 night getaway mid week. At check in, we were pleasantly surprised by Olivia that we had been upgraded to a cottage. I had to change our reservation weeks before and casually mentioned that it was my birthday. They had a chocolate cake with Happy Birthday in our room.
The cottage itself was so nice. It had a bathtub for 2 that must be over 6 feet long. A 2 headed shower with a rain head that was 7 feet high. It felt like you were in a waterfall.
The service staff, incredibly helpful and cheerful.
Across the street they have a fitness center with the biggest swimming pool ever. I am a swimmer and I am so impressed. Plus, there are decks of comfortable lounges overlooking the pool and ocean. Lovely people bring you ice water.
I live on the central coast and have stayed all over coastal California and the Biltmore has my vote on several levels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank californiacoastalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I are huge Four Seasons fans. We appreciate the fact that their properties are all unique, and that a stay at each one brings a new surprise, unlike other "cookie-cutter" properties that try to compete.
Though I must be honest and say that this property lacks some of the features that other, usually newer Four Season properties offer, the location and layout of the hotel more than makes up for it.
The good:
1) The hotel is RIGHT on the the ocean in Santa Barbara (actually ten minutes outside SB), and the view is amazing.
2) This is an older property, and it is extremely well-kept. In addition, the mature landscaping as you walk through the hotel offers a canopy of trees, leaving a cozy feeling that leads to the impression that you are on some far, distant property, away from it all. In fact, the feeling you get is that you are in an amazingly romantic property. In addition, there are archways leading to quaint, romantic grassy knolls, with benches, or croquet courts. The effect is sublime.
3) There are two lovely pools, one in the middle of the property, and a second, larger one, right on the ocean.
4) The Biltmore offers a private swimming and dining club to locals, and the restaurant (located on the second floor at the larger pool) is casual, but with outstanding food, and an unbeatable view of the ocean. I highly recommend that restaurant, which is only open to hotel guests and members, rather than the larger restaurant in the main building.
5) The bar is lovely, and has comfortable seating, both indoor and outdoor, where you can watch the surf pounding.
6) The service is typically "Four Seasons Impeccable". My wife and I drove once from the hotel into SB for dinner, and upon our return, the valet welcomed me back by name, though it was the first and only time I touched my car during our weekend stay. I was amazed. Kudos.
7) The Southwestern style of the hotel and rooms is charming.
8) The lobby has comfortable seating, and it is comfortable to sit and chat with other guests.
9) I was told that this facility is exceptionally busy and hosts more than 150 weddings per year, and I can certainly see why. It would be an excellent choice for a destination wedding.

The not so good:
1) We were upgraded to an executive king room, which came with a lovely fireplace. That said, the bathroom was less than I have seen in other Four Seasons properties. I realize that the facility is older, but if I'm honest, I have enjoyed nicer rooms and baths in other hotels of this caliber.
2) Their main dining room is okay. Nothing special. You'd do better in town. Again, this is not a complaint. I'm simply being real.
3) For those of us that have visited Santa Barbara, we know that the wine area in the region is fantastic (see "Sideways"). However, Santa Barbara itself is nothing more than a long street with chain stores. There's nothing charming about SB. Sorry, but it's the truth. I can't blame the hotel, but if you are traveling from a long distance, you might as well know the truth.

There are better hotels in the Los Angeles metropolitan area (including the Four Seasons Beverly Hills), but from my perspective, if I really wanted to get away and just get lost and get romantic, I might possibly choose to return, and I don't way that about all the places I've traveled to.

Enjoy the splurge. It's worth it!

Room Tip: Though I didn't see one, the cottages in the hotel appear to be very nice. If you're interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

stopped here on our way up north and had very pleasant stay. The hotel staff were very attentive and pleasant. The rooms were what is expected of a Four Seasons resort. Not quite Four Seasons Wailea but will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sds1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.8 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Property: Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing