We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Okay, so I may be a little biased towards the hotel as my fiancee asked me to marry him here, but in all honestly it is an amazing gem!

We stayed here in May of 2011 for a four day trip to Santa Barbara after spending three days in San Francisco. From the moment we arrived, I knew it was going to be a special trip.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very class 'Old Santa Barbara.' The decor was so neat and it was just breathtaking. The hotel has rooms in the 'main part' but also have individual guest cottages. We were upgraded to one of these. I later found out it was because my boyfriend at the time had written the hotel, telling them he was planning on asking me to marry him. The Biltmore went above and beyond with upgrading us to the cottage but then also letting him know that any thing he wanted to make the proposal extra special, they would certainly assist. In the end, he did not add any of those bells & whistles, which is exactly how I preferred it.

The restaurants within the hotel were delicious - well made drinks and good food. Yes, it is expensive but it is a Four Seasons. We ate at the main restaurant overlooking the water one night and they had 50% off all bottles of wine which was nice.

The pool on the grounds is small but the set up is quite nice. We were there during the week, so it was not as crowded as a weekend may have been.

The spa was wonderful. I had a manicure by a lovely technician. The relaxation room and other parts of the spa were on the smaller side but it was still very relaxing.

Another plus of this hotel is access to the Coral Casino Beach Club which is literally across the street. This presents another pool option as well as additional dining choices. We hung out here one day and it was fun.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. It was a magical trip - for many reasons but the Four Seasons service is on par here. I can't wait to go back and celebrate our anniversary some day :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDMCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    282
    121
    58
    40
See reviews for
511
857
51
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent two nights over the Christmas holiday with our Australian Shepherd. There was a dog bed in our room along with a doggie menu and offer for a canine spa treatment.

Fortunately the human service was just as thoughtful. Great workout sites. Room service was tasty. The grounds were impeccable.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the Four Seasons 1/25-27/12. The rooms are nice (pretty much what you would expect from a top quality hotel) but not flashy. The staff though couldn't have been nicer or more professional. When my heat did not work one night, they quickly sent someone to fix it. When it couldn't be fixed quickly, they sent a bellman to help me move to another room. They even called a bit later to make sure I was happy with the new room and apologize again for the inconvenience. The food at the hotel was excellent. The location was gorgeous. Although I was traveling on business, I would love to stay here on vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Biltmore in Montecito is in every respect the grand old lady of the Santa Barbara area.
Extremely smooth and friendly check in. Small problem with the reserved and allocated room was immediately solved to our satisfaction.
Bell staff and valets all extremely friendly. They all do their best to make you feel at home.
We truly enjoyed our stay here. As an extra, guests of the hotel can use the facilities of the Coral Casino Club on the other side of the road. Superb dining in Tydes whilst enjoying the sunset over Santa Barbara. Unforgettable. Excellent service with good wine counseling.
The awesome pool of the club (50 meters long) invites for a morning exercise.
Latte and croissants on the pool deck as a reward satisfies all needs.
You feel the history of this place and it feels good!
The rooms are large and well decorated. Most rooms without a view. Cozy but dark.
Note: as usual, if you want an ocean view (or any view at all) specify well in advance when making the reservation.
The overall experience was great.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRTravellerLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We've been coming to this hotel for decades, and it just gets better. The location is perfect. Getting to the beach for fabulous walks (when the tide's right you can walk for several miles) is a snap, just walk across the quiet Channel Drive in front of the hotel and you're there. When the surf's up, local surfers come out in force -- see my photo of one taking flight. The giant pool at the hotel's Coral Casino (a private club open to hotel guests) is right on the ocean, and swimming there in the 80 degree water is bliss. The gardens are wonderful -- every plant is tenderly cared for and excellently placed and pruned. The trees are astonishing, some of them giants soaring into the sky. The service is tops, quick, thoughtful, proud of the hotel, and well trained. The food in the high-end in-hotel restaurant is excellent -- fresh, inventive. The food at the pool-side cafe is light and interesting. Be aware of two strange realities that would give an insurance company pause, however. First, the grounds are so low-lit in places that if the moon is not out it is impossible to see . There's one outside staircase where the algae growth is not kept at bay, making the narrow, clay steps very tricky, and in the dark it's not fun at all to reach the bottom and not know where to step. So bring the flashlight you can find in the drawer of your room. Second, the tile floor in the showers is so slippery that you may need to hang on to the faucet to keep from falling. It's beautiful tile, but it's tough to walk in and out. But these are both surmountable problems, and the hotel is worth it!

Room Tip: Get a map from the hotel to see where rooms are located on the extensive grounds. Ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was our first experience at a Four Seasons hotel. We had high expectations and we were not disappointed. The rooms are immaculate, large, extremely comfortable and come with all the creature comforts that you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The service was excellent and the staff (all extremely friendly) go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable at all times during your stay. They have a fantastic bar which has a terrace that overlooks the bay - a great place to enjoy a drink (or 2) while watching the sun go down over the ocean. We were there for 3 nights and each night were fortunate enough to watch dolphins playing as we enjoyed our 'sundowners'. The hotel itself is actually located in Montecito, which is about 1.5 miles from downtown Santa Barbara. If staying there, it is advantageous to have a car, so as to be able to properly explore the nearby vineyards etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleeker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

As usual the Four Seasons does not fail to impress. The hotel, its grounds and the beautiful rooms were up to the usual high standard. The Four Seasons hotels always smell so wonderful. My only complaint is that the wait staff should not start to clear plates when one of the party is still eating - extremely bad manners. Have noticed this takes place at most restaurants now and it is very offputting. Apart from this minor hiccup the hotel is superb and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGlamper1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.8 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Property: Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing