We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Cachuma

Lake Cachuma
Ranked #48 of 172 things to do in Santa Barbara
Attraction details
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Boring and uneventful. Especially now. The lake is way down low due to the lack of rainfall. If you're interesting in fishing. Forget it. They're aren't any to be caught. :P

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    55
    39
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pricey for crappy camping!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We went here not knowing what to expect and what a bummer! The full hookup RV sites are far from the lake so we picked a site that was dry camping lakeside and it was pricey for nothing. The bathrooms were not kept up at all, no toilet paper or paper towels in a Tuesday, I'd hate to see a weekend?
Although the view was beautiful the wind was relentless.
Don't think we will be back.

Helpful?
4 Thank LoriRfromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I love to camp here in our van. It's a beautiful place and the spaces are good sized. Anybody who camps on a holiday is going to sometimes face noise and crowding issues anywhere. All in all, though, this is a great family place. Only con: sometimes the restrooms aren't well stocked, so bring your own TP just in case!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Imvioletsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
212 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Low water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I love this lake area and have come here many time to enjoy the view of the lake. I am sad to say that the lake is so low in water that what would be an area to hike, to camp, etc. is now so low on water that I would wait until water returns to normal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great family place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited Lake Cachuma on Veteran's Day weekend and was surprised to find this great place rather empty. We arrived on Saturday and stayed in a cabin. It was clean and comfortable, had a hot plate and microwave for easy cooking. We took the boat tour with Rose and were lucky enough to be delayed by a broken depth meter and a snapped reverse cable. It was an adventure that could have lasted longer in our opinion. We needed a small rescue off of Arrowhead Island by the Santa Barbara boat patrol, another nice surprise. My girlfriend was urging me to snap pictures of our cute heroes doing what they do best. Haha. Sunday we went to the nature center and learned more about the animals of the area. We spent quite a long time browsing the different rooms and touching artifacts, looking at displays. Our last night was quiet and cozy next to our camp fire. Lucky for us the little general store had fire wood and all the normal campfire fixings so our son could have s'mores. Monday was exit day for most of the weekenders, but we stayed long enough to check out the camping areas and yurts. This was a great place for kids to make friends, ride their bikes, play on the jungle gyms, and learn to fish. This is one place we will be returning. Just hoping that rain helps bring the water level up, as it is currently about 42 feet low.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank movaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Cachuma also viewed

 

Been to Lake Cachuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing