We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Sands Motel
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Stayed here 2 nights after reading the great reviews on here. Plus for the price and location to the beach in Santa Barbara, I chose here to save a little $$. I was bummed out when we arrived, I guess I was expecting a little more. It is a very small property, only about 11 or 12 rooms and very "motel" style. Our room was ok, it was upgraded and the bathroom was nice, but you could tell it wasn't super clean. I just wish I would have spent a little more, and I could tell my husband and step-son were a little bummed too. I wish we would have stayed at the Santa Barbara Inn next door or the lovely Fess Parker Double Tree.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erika2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    93
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
78
113
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed one night here while driving up to San Francisco. This is a lovely motel, very very clean. All the reviews on here are true. I would definetely recommend this motel. The bedroom was really pretty and cozy. It had a flat screen television and lovely plants in the room as well.The bathroom was extremally clean also. This place is excellent value. Would stay again no problem...

  • Liked — cozy bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank serenity200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed in the "suite" over the office. The price was ok for the amenities. Good size for two with an extra bedroom with sofa bed and kitchen. They do allow pets for $10 per nite. It had a wonderful view of the ocean and park across the street. It is right over a main street so it is kind of noisy at night. The other rooms are further from the street and have nicely remodeled apartments. Amtrak trains seem to run by at various hours of the day and nite. The train horns are noisy but they don't last long. Just long enough to wake me up, but the train runs thru most of downtown SB.

Our kitchen had a rusty old stove and refrigerator, table and 4 chairs, and plates and dishes for about 3 people. The windows in the kitchen did not open, the kitchen was kind of smelly and the floor was stricky. One electrical outlet near the sink for MWave, toaster, and coffee maker. The bathroom and kitchen really need to be upgraded. One tiny dresser in the bedroom. The people working there were helpful and responsive, especially when the bathtub plugged up.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfshook62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2008

What a bargain! We spent 4 days / 3 nights and had a very positive experience all around. Some highlights: Personal management and personal service; dog friendly; lovely kitchenettes; great location. We recommend giving it a try.

  • Liked — Kitchenette
  • Disliked — Not much landscaping
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogOwner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2008

This is the second year I've stayed at the Blue Sands Motel. It's a block from the beach and a short walk to restaurants and shopping. This year I stayed in one of the remodeled rooms and it was very nice.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Valdepapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We had a great weekend stay at the Blue Sands Motel.

We stayed in a room that had a small kitchen. It was a great little kitchen and it even had a small oven and stove. Another plus is that there is a door to the kitchen so it is separate from the bedroom. Our baby goes to bed at 7pm so we were able to fit her pack n' play crib into the kitchen and close the door slightly so she would not be disturbed.

We did not find the train noise to be disturbing at all.

There is a great little grocery store just a block away.

The $ 0.25 Santa Barbara shuttle is just a block away and takes you to State street and strearns wharf.

Great location, super friendly staff. Great heated pool.

We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cijd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Blue Sands is less than a half block from one of the most beautiful beaches in Santa Barbara. So it gets more stars than a hotel with the exact same room and amenities would get in the middle of nowhere. We paid $105 a night for a midweek stay, and compared to all other beachside hotels that was a STEAL.

The motel is small and looks like your typical 1950s roadside stop, with maybe 10 rooms on 2 floors overlooking the pool and the parking strip. It is right next to the Santa Barbara Inn which costs at least 2-3 times what we paid. The rooms are tiny but the space is used well; they fit a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, desk, fireplace, flat panel TV, ice bucket, DVD player and extra TV inputs (it looks like you can plug your videogame player in!) in this small space. We were in room 7 which I understand is one of the renovated rooms. The bathroom was also small, with room for only a shower, no bathtub, but the fixtures are lovely and the tile is beautiful. Yes, there is a hairdryer, and the bath towels are thick and luxurious, not your typical hotel towels at all. There is a ceiling fan and an adjustable dimmer for the overhead light, both of which are very useful. Oh! And a BIG plus: The shower had a handheld shower head on a hose. I love those things!!

We swam in the pool twice. It was heated to around 80-82 degrees, which was a bit chilly in the overcast weather, but fine. Unfortunately the pool is mostly 5-6 feet deep and deeper; there is no 3-foot shallow end for kids to play in.

The front desk is just small counter and they are only "open" until 8:45pm, although I think you can call them if you have an emergency. We called in the morning because we found a carpet tack sticking out of the carpet, and a guy came straight up with a hammer to fix the problem. The management was nice and friendly.

The motel is located down the road a stretch from the main hub of State Street and the wharf; it's on the other side of the Fess Parker next to a baseball diamond and the train tracks. Our toddler loved the sound of the train going by, and we are sound sleepers, but lighter sleepers might want to bring earplugs. Also, the Blue Sands is very close to the Santa Barbara Zoo, which is a wonderful place to visit. We recommend driving to State Street for chocolate chip pancakes at Sambo's, and take the kids to the Chase Palms playground in between! Strolls on the beach are perfect, just outside the motel parking lot. It's a great location; you just can't walk home from the bar unless you're drinking at the SB Inn or the Fess Parker. Up Milpas Street away from the beach, you'll find a Trader Joe's for high quality low priced groceries, and La Super Rica taqueria, a Santa Barbara institution.

There is a shuttle that stops in front of the SB Inn next door and takes you down State Street. It stops running at 6pm off season, but in the summer it runs until 10pm.

The mattresses did not feel like the highest quality to me; they made springy noises and my back did not like them. But everything else inside the room was very nice. The internet worked fine too.

  • Liked — Location, price, amenities, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Pool is too deep, room is tiny
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Twirlgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
886 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Property: Blue Sands Motel
Address: 421 S Milpas St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3645
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing