We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Sands Motel to your Saves list
Blue Sands Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very close to the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Sands for one night and felt it was really nice. The room was well furnished, fairly quiet, just perfect for walking to the beach. We travel with our small dog and found the first floor room convenient. There was a small kitchen, good wifi, and a flat screen tv. Everything was clean and well maintained. We were able to park in the motel lot. My only complaint was that our room was just steps from the pool and the chlorine smell was a bit strong inside the room. However, it is a small hotel (just 12 rooms, I think) and others would probably find it very convenient to be so close to the pool! I guess that it was a trade-off - first floor ease for going out with the dog vs. less chlorine odor on the 2nd floor. At any rate, the location was so perfect, the staff was friendly, and we would probably stay at the Blue Sands again if we are in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 2 nights. The Hotel is located right on the beach, and a 15 min walk to Santa Barbara pier. On check in we were given some great local information by the manager, and were upgraded to a room with a fireplace, which was a nice touch. The room was a good size, with a large bathroom with the best shower we had during our 3 week stay in the USA. There is a pool, but we opted for the beach instead. The room was very clean, and serviced daily, and a good standard of toiletries was provided. Santa Barbara is a great place to spend a few days, a highlight for us was a sunset meal on valentines day at the Santa Barbara Shellfish Company at the end of the Pier. The Brewhouse is also a great place for craft beers, and has live music! The Blue Sands Motel is great value for money in Santa Barbara, which can be pricey!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Small(11 rooms), newly and nicely decorated.Fireplace, flat screen TV. Heated pool. free Wifi and parking($30 a day next door!). Two of the room even have views of the beach! Only 1/2 block from the park/beach. 1/4 mile? from the pier.Great place, dog friendly too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had stayed at the Blue Sands several times over the last few years. It's always so clean and very inviting. It's almost seems like home away from home. I swear I recognize some of the guests from previous stays!! Would highly recommend it for a good price.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end closest to the park seem bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love Santa Barbara, and was looking for a user-friendly, clean place for my husband and me to enjoy the beach, State Street, the pier, and all the loveliness SB has to offer. I chose Blue Sands from Trip Advisor, and I wasn't disappointed! Small and quiet, with adequate parking and very near the beach. The room was decorated in a modern, appealing way. Very clean with hardwood floors and tile. We used the fireplace to heat the room, and the DVD player and big screen to watch our Netflix. Nice to have a full-service kitchen, too. The bathroom is beautiful and modern, with a large walk-in tile shower.

The only drawbacks I saw, which didn't bother us, was that the room is fairly compact, and there isn't much shelf or table space to lay out your items. But there are chairs to sit in, and the kitchen table. I would gladly, glady stay there again!

Room Tip: No elevator, so travelers with physical limitations will prefer one of the ground-floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler8655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at this small motel for 3 nights earlier in January at the end of our 5 week trip in the USA. We decided to stay here rather than in LA where we were flying out of as it is less than a couple of hours driving to LAX from here. Motel room was on the small side for 4 people but very comfortable queen beds and larger bathroom with shower only (no bath). We were upgraded to a room with a fireplace. Great location just a short walk to the beach and walkways. Also only 10 minutes walk to the Zoo. Very helpful front office staff offering advice on places to see in Santa Barbara. Good value in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was really impressed with the front desk staff and the room itself. It was clean and modern and very comfortable! And the location and views are spectacular! The rates were very good and I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neldurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Santa Barbara
Hyatt Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Address: 421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing