We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Kind People and Comfortable Space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Sands Motel
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kind People and Comfortable Space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was really impressed with the front desk staff and the room itself. It was clean and modern and very comfortable! And the location and views are spectacular! The rates were very good and I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neldurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    93
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
76
112
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed two nights on our trip down to family for the holidays and opted for the two-bedroom suite (well worth the upgrade at a very reasonable rate). The rooms were spacious and clean, thoughtfully decorated, and seemed recently refurbished. Location was literally a stone throw from East Beach and a 10-minute walk to State Street and the Pier.
The lady in reception was extremely helpful throughout our stay, pointing out local attractions that would be suitable for a young family and even wrote down detailed useful information for us. She was fantastic, a real asset at Blue Sands!
After we had checked out we realized that we had left some items behind and contacted them - they promptly found the items and kept them safe for us until we passed by on our return trip.
We'll definitely be staying at Blue Sands again on our next stay in Santa Barbara and can't recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: The two-bedroomed suite with an ocean view is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redstappster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain City, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

While traveling the West Coast in early December, my wife and I needed a place to stay. We like the small places and usually don't book ahead. We fired up the Garmin and knowing we were close, called and asked for rates. Being happy with the rate we stopped in to see what it was like for curb appeal. Looked good from the street, so we went to the office to see if we can have a look at a room. Very nice! Tastefully decorated with nice furniture and it had a great bed. Needless to say, we had a great night sleep after a good mead at a restaurant recommenced by the owner. A quality place at a decent rate!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed one night during a road trip along highway 1 without having a reservation. We got a good rate and no fee for an inflatable mattress (which according to the guy having to sleep on it was very comfy).

The guy in the reception was extremely helpful and offered us to look at the room first. He also gave us advice on delivery pizzas, as the time was rather late. Now we found another place but he wasn't stressed just because he was about to quit for the day but helped us out all the way.

The room had a fireplace which also served as heating. Really nice until it got too hot. The motel is just 100 feet from the beach so the locations is really great.

If going to Santa Barbara again I'd definitely stay at Blue Sands Motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinceremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went for a weekend getaway with the family. The room was nice and clean, and the bathroom was recently remodeled. At first I was hesitant about whether it would be suitable because it is a pet-friendly hotel - but I didn't notice any fleas, odor, or damage. Great location, literally across from the beach and State Street just a few minutes by car. Wonderful pool that was well-lit in the evening and heated, too! The price was right and the staff friendly. We've stayed at a number of budget hotels over the years and I would highly recommend the Blue Sands as being one of the best of them.

Room Tip: Choose the upgraded Queen room with remodeled bathroom and the fireplace. Cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Blue Sands Motel is just a block from the beach and a short walk to the pier. I reserved a king room. It overlooked the pool and had an ocean view (room 10). My room had a fireplace, a little kitchenette, and a large flat-screen television. The bed was incredibly comfortable! I stayed for two nights, and it was so quiet and peaceful. I was never disturbed by outside noise or other guests.
There is a pool on the property that is heated from April to December, but there is no hot tub. There is also an area to sit outside that has heat lamps for the chilly evenings.
Blue Sands is a great deal for the price. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have an ocean view, so be sure to inquire about that if that is a priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMacleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a night in October, had a very pleasant stay. It's a clean small motel run by friendly people. Very pet friendly, which was nice for us traveling with a small dog. It's across a road from the beach, and about a mile from the pier, but a very easy walk down the bike path. Overall a great stay, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Property: Blue Sands Motel
Address: 421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing