We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming motel with a wonderful staff.”
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming motel with a wonderful staff.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband, sister and sister in law all stayed here this winter on an over night stay in Santa Barbara. It was a great choice. Clean, lovely rooms with comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Delightful sitting room for hanging out and enjoying warm cookies in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning. And the staff was so friendly and helpful. I would stay here again any time if I was lucky enough to get back to Santa Barbara. My only caution is that if you are a family looking for extensive pool activities, this might not be the choice for you. It was too cool to swim when we were there, but the pool that they do have is rather small and probably not real "kid friendly".

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    271
    86
    26
    6
See reviews for
215
266
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Everything about this motel was perfect--the location (right near the harbour and State Street), the friendliness of staff, the efficiency of check-in and -out, the beautiful grounds with pool and spa, laundry facilities and especially the way the room was thoughtfully designed and equipped with everything one might need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryes_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The Franciscan Inn was a hidden gem! Found the hotel online. Spring rate of 170.00 a night. Very reasonable compared to all of the other choices. We made our way to Santa Barbara from San Diego for a one night stay. Just blocks from the beach!Upon entering the quaint grounds we were greeted with such beauty. The grounds of this small hotel are Gorgeous. Flowers everywhere. Sounds of fountains and birds.. The office was decorated beautifully. ..serving coffee, fruit and fresh baked cookies for their occupants. The Gentleman at the
Front desk was professional and helpful to us first timers of SB. Out room (114) was on the bottom floor in a newly remodeled wing. A large fountain along with a spa and laundry area were steps from our room. The room was a a spacious surprise. Felt like a fancy apartment. Equipped w kitchenette couch dining table and 40 inch flat screen was the first room. Bathroom had a large tub with a spa like shower head. The bdrm had a queen size bed with a bed set of navy and white bed linens. To our surprise another large flat screen TV on the wall for our enjoyment. Overall we would've loved to have stayed longer but had to get back to Sacramento. We will definitely be returning here on our next trip to Santa Barbara!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hwa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night when we were in town for a wedding. All of the big and/or fancy hotels in Santa Barbara have a 2-night minimum (which we couldn't do because of schedule), which drives me crazy -- I've been all over the country and in some great beach towns across the world, and I can't think of one other city whose hotels seem to universally have restrictions like this. Frankly, I think Santa Barbara is lovely, but it's not fabulous enough to impose 2-night minimums. Get over yourself, SB.

Okay, enough with my rant. I say this to say, for a one-night minimum, The Franciscan is just great. It looks a little motel-y when you drive in, but our room was recently renovated and had 2 rooms- a sitting area with kitchenette, and a bedroom. The bathroom was small but functional. The price was about $100 less per night than the "fancy" place who insisted on a two-night minimum. The included continental breakfast was functional and fine.

As an added bonus, the Franciscan was about 2 blocks from the oceanfront, where there are tons of hotels, restaurants, plus every Sunday morning, along the sidewalk are artisans with their wares. My husband and I took a great walk along the water. You're also about 8 blocks from the downtown wine-tasting district, which we love. And if you wanted to shop in town on State Street, you could walk about a half mile-mile to get there too.

I would totally stay here again, especially for a nice one-night getaway from LA. To me, it's not worth the price to pay for 2 nights at a fancier place.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly-renovated room -- the older ones (per the pictures on the website) look a little too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarJar319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cut and Shoot, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Spent two nights in end of April. Over two hundred dollars a night for a motel room which seems overpriced. Had a child with us and needed a roll away which they could not provide. Was woken up in the middle of the night by a woman screaming "he is going to kill me" scared my grand daughter to death, cops had to be called to the scene. Have stayed at the motel many times in the past, starting to show its age now. I made a comment about the incident that disrupted our nights
sleep to the front desk upon checkout, didn't seem to care or made no attempt to compensate for the unfortunate event. Positive side (their afternoon cookies and tea) are quite good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrblahblah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was traveling with my aunt & sister for a 2 day, 1 night visit to Santa Barbara. We stayed in their Santa Barbara suite. It was perfect for us. There was 3 double beds with 2 rooms. plenty of room for the 3 of us and we each had our own bed!. The room was so clean, from the whitest of white bed spreads to the bathroom. Loved the snacks & cookies in the lobby upon our arrival. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. I WOULD DEFINITELY recommend this hotel. The best part was how close it is to the beach and Carol was such a joy! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Simple. Great Price, Three easy walking blocks to beach and outside dinning, and super friendly staff that actually serve you. The wonderful lady in the picture had a great smile and actually made our coffee and served us our danish in the morning. Great start to the day!

Room Tip: Simple. Great Price, Three easy walking blocks to beach and outside dinning, and super friendly staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing