We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Auntie Carol”
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love Auntie Carol”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

20 years ago my wife and I visited Santa Barbara for the first time and stayed at the Franciscan Inn. We fell in love with it then. The experience has gotten better and better each time we return.

We are coming back for Valentine's day.

Auntie Carol is the most delightful addition to our experience coming back to Santa Barbara and the Franciscan Inn. She greeted us for breakfast and treated us to home made sweet bread.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertq357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    278
    89
    26
    6
See reviews for
225
273
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Good location in Santa Barbara and one of the more affordable options. Accommodated our late check in and were very friendly at the continental breakfast offered in the lobby in the morning. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others looking to stay in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BCon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Staying in room 102. Room seems a little dated. Wi-Fi Internet does not work. Carpet has deep stains. Shower-head in bathroom is really low unless you're under 5 and a half feet tall. Water pressure in shower feels a little low and hot water comes and goes at times.
Wallpaper was out of date. Walls are thin so hear most of your neighbors conversations and/or loud noise like we had the other night.
Complimentary breakfast was good. Not a lot of selection but what they had was good.
Queen bed wasn't very comfortable but ok for a weekend.
Otherwise, location was real good. Close to the highway and shops.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just one night while in the area. Well maintained, charming property near the beach. Comfortable bed with nice linens. Room was older but very clean and neat. Flat screen TV. Area was quiet at night. Nice pool area and great hot tub. They are completely renovating one section of rooms at this inn but this does not affect your stay. Nice continental breakfast. Parking was not a problem. Loved Santa Barbara and would stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tulumfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently my sister and I went to Santa Barbara to relax and unwind. The Franciscan Inn was an awesome choice to stay. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, simple yet adequate. Could have used a banana though, but the apples were great. The chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon were baked to perfection. The Franciscan Inn is three blocks from the beach which we thought was perfect for us. Quiet when you need it quiet and a short walk to where the action is. I have a feeling my sis and I will be back. PS...really easy to get to from airport.

Room Tip: Room 172 was great. Upper level, back of property, overlooking hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinksmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Somewhat a plain vanilla motel but efficient staff, clean, close to waterfront and pier (can't say I liked the wharf), and inexpensive - $126.00 - for our 9/24/13 room. The breakfast was adequate, being held in their lobby with no tables but was tasty and filling with fresh pastries, fruit, hard boiled eggs and other standard fare. Unless you are in to fancy digs it is worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful accommodations. The grounds are beautiful and the room was very quiet. The front desk happily recommended a full day's worth of suggested sightseeing for us. Because we traveled via Amtrak (train station about 3 blocks away) AND post summer rates, our room was insanely affordable. If we come again to enjoy lovely and friendly Santa Barbara, we'll make our stay at Franciscan Inn.

Room Tip: Consider traveling to SB after middle of September-room rates much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawnfeb_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing