We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel next to the beach”
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel next to the beach”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Hotel for one night on our way from cambria to LA on the Fiesta Festival and the Hotel was great! Good location, nice and clean room very good service in the front desk everything was fun!! Nice choice!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    278
    89
    26
    6
See reviews for
225
273
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here in July. We had the room right next door to the pool and ice machine. Our room did not have smelly carpets. It was perfect. I have no complaints in any way about this Inn.
A little bit of info you are 3 blocks (10min) from the nearest convinience (beer and wine) store.
1 block from the beach.
It is set in a quite bit of town.
As other reviews have mentioned Cookies, you can smell them on the way in, you can smell them as they bake mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
I could not fault the place.

Room Tip: get the one next to the pool or any one on that block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn_Toulose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very sweet little place that we stumbled upon randomly when driving down the big sur. in a good location near the beach but the best thing was the reception staff who were really friendly, helpful and sweet. They also make the best cookies ever for a 4pm tea treat. A little over priced personally but worth it for a stop over.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLRjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to enjoy the beach and local restaurants. We found the Inn to be very comfortable and quaint. The staff really cares and demonstrates this by doing the little extra. For example, we needed a taxi to visit the Lotus Land Garden and they were willing to arrange it for us. Also, they brought us bags of ice when we only asked for the bags. The breakfast is acceptable, but we found the croissant to be stale and they had no cereal or milk. The bagels were fantastic (proper boiled NY style), but one day there were no bagels. There was oatmeal, but only the kind for adding hot water. So, the average breakfast is the only reason we do not rate a level 5. A suggestion would be to add milk and cereal, and keep the bagels every day and please be sure all is fresh.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid a room that has another room above. Most rooms though appear to be on a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. We were visiting from out of town 2 nights, and their suggestions on things to do and where to eat were great! The breakfast had a wide variety to pick from, all of which was yummy. The cookies during the day were a nice bonus. If we are in the area again, we will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went for a weekend wedding and could not have been more pleased. The room was spotless, the place was quiet but two blocks from the beach and pier. You could walk to State Street. I had to leave early, but the nice gentleman offered me coffee and a Danish for my trip. Who cares about the cozy furnishings in such a pretty city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked last minute over holiday weekend so were luck to get a room at all! A cold front that moved down the coast must have scared off travelers and all of a sudden many hotels had "vacancy" notices up.

This time we tried out a new room/new area of complex which is a small single story building next to the swimming pool. First benefit - nobody upstairs pounding on the floor at odd hours.

Room 162 was a bit smaller than other rooms we've stayed in but big bonus points - it was quiet! Not housekeepers cart roling up and down the tile walkway starting at 7:30am in the main building across the parking lot. Also didn't miss the other guests tromping back and forth to lobby to get continental breakfast.

Room was spotlessly clean, attractive and we also enjoyed non-stop coffee, cookies, fruit available in lobby throughout the day. I sat by the pool to read and was the only one there (it was still a bit overcast). Continental breakfast is starch-heavy but we managed with instant oatmeal, hardboiled eggs and apples with peanut butter. The muffins looked good but skipped them.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for room in buildings across parking lot/pool side, or rooms that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing