We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“here for a weding”
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“here for a weding”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location, 3 blockes from the beach and 20 minutes walk to State St. on the other side of the highway (there's a walkway) with great shopping and amazing restaurants. The room is very nice with a king bed, and amenities. We got a room with A/C. A must for us as this is a motel. Very nice area. clean and well kept.

Room Tip: get A/C. not every room has it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    271
    86
    26
    6
See reviews for
215
266
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Clean, quiet, and reasonably priced, but could use a little upgrading. Breakfast is offered, but there is really no place to sit with a group and eat. On the plus side, when my plans changed and I had to stay in Santa Barbara and extra day, the hotel was extremely accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been recently renovated or one that is away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

A small but attractive family owned hotel with a room that was average size but comfortable, well decorated, and well kept for $155 a single night. They do have larger suites available. Came with a simple but complete continental breakfast served by our hostess Carol who was a joy to meet. Staff were all very friendly. The location is ideal to walk for shopping on State Street or eats, and going to beach or pier. The location and quality justified the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place delivered a clean, comfortable, slighty more stylish than expected place to lay our heads in a great location near the beach. It wasn't exciting or luxurious but it was spot on for what we wanted. Booking my base in Santa Barbara from the UK I was hot and bothered about whether to be by East or West beach. I hadn't appreciated how close to each they are. It's a moot point. We were nearest West beach for the excellent Brophy Brothers restaurant on the harbour pier but also just 5+ mins from sandy East beach. In fact many of the inns reviewed here are within a few minutes walk of each other. Collecting breakfast and taking it back to the room or perching on one of the very few sofas and chairs where it was laid out wasn't a high point but didn't spoil a lovely stay. I was pleasantly suprised by how peaceful and attractive the area around the inn is. We walked in and out of the town centre each evening so it's perfectly do-able, though did feel a slight trek late on the way home. As a town I can't recommend Santa Baraba enough. I thought it was really charming. And, it was the first coastal place, on our September road trip from San Fransico that was warm and sunny - hooray!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and arrived very late but the staff were great and got us settled in as quick as they could and left all the paperwork until the morning.

The rooms were of a nice size and had a tv. We didnt spend much time in them.

The breakfast was lovely with a range of bagels, cereals etc. Lovely staff and always giving tips of where to go and see or eat.

The hotel is within walking distance to the beach and the pier. Very quiet but pretty.

You can walk to all the shops but the 'strip' is quite long. The variety of shops are great with some nice restuarants too.

The hotel has a nice little pool too with some sunbeds around.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Traveling by myself, I stayed five nights at the Franciscan Inn. The staff was so welcoming, friendly, helpful, and fun! Walking into the lobby area felt like being at home. The afternoon cookies, ever-present bowl of apples and assorted teas, added a special touch, as did "Miss Carol" who oversees a lovely continental breakfast. She's like a personal trip advisor...a very unique touch to a perfectly-located, well-cared-for family business!

Room Tip: Whereas the basic rooms are very adequate and clean, you might want to upgrade to a suite, as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A group of six ladies for a getaway trip had the best time at Franciscan Inn! We rented two of the queen rooms with a kitchenette that were side by side. The Inn is an older but VERY well kept place. We even used the hideabeds and they weren't terrible. This is a great place for larger groups and it was nice to have a small kitchen for appetizers and cocktails. Every morning we got up early and walked the two or three blocks to the pier and then came back for coffee and breakfast. The location is great for walking everywhere you need to go at the waterfront. You do have to drive if you want to go to downtown Santa Barbara for shopping and such.
Like many reviewers have noted we did meet the breakfast monitor. It would seem that her heart just wants to serve. She does ask that you not touch anything, which I get would you want to eat something other people have pawed? But she is as sweet as can be and will give whatever you ask of her. And she had some great tips and suggestions of things to do and see. You just can't go down to the breakfast room and be in a hurry, because she only works at one speed. Which is fine, we're on vacation, right?
The grounds are beautiful, the neighborhood around the hotel was beautiful and very safe day and night to walk around in. We made a few trips over to the market for cocktail supplies!
I thought it was a great stay and a great value. Again a perfect type of place for families and larger groups.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petalumachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing