We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Franciscan Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mason Beach Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$189
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$218
$172
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
373
334
100
28
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
334
100
28
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon cookiesgreat locationbreakfast ladystandard suitecontinental breakfaststate streetfresh baked cookiesbagelsfew blocksbath streetwithin walking distanceshort walk to the beachhard boiled eggswest beachqueen bedreception areadefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 842 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Traveling by myself, I stayed five nights at the Franciscan Inn. The staff was so welcoming, friendly, helpful, and fun! Walking into the lobby area felt like being at home. The afternoon cookies, ever-present bowl of apples and assorted teas, added a special touch, as did "Miss Carol" who oversees a lovely continental breakfast. She's like a personal trip advisor...a very unique touch to a perfectly-located, well-cared-for family business!

Room Tip: Whereas the basic rooms are very adequate and clean, you might want to upgrade to a suite, as it's just so much more homey.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A group of six ladies for a getaway trip had the best time at Franciscan Inn! We rented two of the queen rooms with a kitchenette that were side by side. The Inn is an older but VERY well kept place. We even used the hideabeds and they weren't terrible. This is a great place for larger groups and it was nice to have a small kitchen for appetizers and cocktails. Every morning we got up early and walked the two or three blocks to the pier and then came back for coffee and breakfast. The location is great for walking everywhere you need to go at the waterfront. You do have to drive if you want to go to downtown Santa Barbara for shopping and such.
Like many reviewers have noted we did meet the breakfast monitor. It would seem that her heart just wants to serve. She does ask that you not touch anything, which I get would you want to eat something other people have pawed? But she is as sweet as can be and will give whatever you ask of her. And she had some great tips and suggestions of things to do and see. You just can't go down to the breakfast room and be in a hurry, because she only works at one speed. Which is fine, we're on vacation, right?
The grounds are beautiful, the neighborhood around the hotel was beautiful and very safe day and night to walk around in. We made a few trips over to the market for cocktail supplies!
I thought it was a great stay and a great value. Again a perfect type of place for families and larger groups.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petalumachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husbanf and I were celebrating both our birthdays and decided to spend a couple days in Santa Barbara. We chose the Franciscan Inn from the great reviews in Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed at all. From the moment I called to make the reservation, to check-in and everything in-between, this hotel's staff and the stay was great. Room is small but very clean, the grounds give a tropical feeling, very pretty and well-maintained, parking is great, right in front of your room, the pool area very nice and clean and the lobby is so cozy, nice comfortable places to sit with a fireplace, a basket full of apples and a selection of teas with hot water all day. They even surprised us with a bottle of very good champagne with real glass champagne glasses in a nice bucket. A great hotel to celebrate our very first stay in S.B. and birthdays. And it really is only 5 minutes from the beach and restaurants. Would recommend this Inn to anybody!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor right next to the pool and we were not disappointed. It is an extremely quite hotel. Loved the way the windows opened up to let the cool breeze in.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pollie3996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night in a standard suite, which was only thing available when I made reservation 2 weeks prior. Would normally not go for the extra expense but it was nice to have the additional space and the refrig in the kitchenette. The reception staff was friendly and very helpful in finding out information about places we wanted to see. The room was clean and comfortable but decor is rather dated. Location is very good near the beach but off the busy street. Generous check out time of 12 instead of typical 11. Liked the ice water, tea/coffee, cookies and basket of fresh apples in the lobby.

Room Tip: Had a suite in the back and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnMarie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although the rooms are small, as noted in other reviews, they are comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is a short walk to the beach and pier. The breakfast is O.K., although, rather than serve yourself like most hotels, there is a lady serving everything including coffee, which makes for some congestion in the dining area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews