We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although the rooms are small, as noted in other reviews, they are comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is a short walk to the beach and pier. The breakfast is O.K., although, rather than serve yourself like most hotels, there is a lady serving everything including coffee, which makes for some congestion in the dining area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    229
    66
    24
    3
See reviews for
150
216
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Only stayed one night here because where we had been staying the previous night (just around the corner) was full up so moved into this place. I couldn't believe when walking into the room how small it was, also no mini fridge at all. Bathroom had obviously been refitted was large & nice. Staff were efficient & hot beverages are available in foyer during the day. I didn't have breakfast as we left early on our travels. Maybe I should of asked the room size before booking (but haven't come across this problem before). This place is handy to beach area & short walk into the "downtown" area.

Room Tip: Ask how big the room is - photos can be deceptive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinalhaven, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here several times and always had a good time. The staff are solicitous, the breakfasts are excellent and I love the pool and spa. The hotel is in a wonderful location, with a short walk to the shore, and a slightly longer one to State St., the main drag.
My wife and I recently stayed in the Franciscan Suite: kitchenette, livingroom and bedroom. AND a fireplace that worked! A little faded- the baseboards needed painting and there were some strange wirings that should have been put into the interior of the walls. The rug could have been replaced. But these are minor quibbles- I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent one night here in November. It was the noisiest place we stayed in two weeks of travel around California. We could hear everything going on in neighbouring rooms and every time somebody opened or closed a car door or started their engine it sounded like they were in your room. On a positive note the chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon were delicious! Also the staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Franciscan inn is located about one and a half blocks to west beach and two to the pier, and just another short walk to another beach, East Beach. The rooms I stayed in was nice, but the blankets could have been a little warmer and thicker. The lobby is very cozy and the people working at the front desk are friendly and can provide a map of the area. The pool is great and heated. The free breakfast is fine, (the croissants are the best thing there) but there are a good number of foods like oatmeal and cheese and hard boiled eggs. There is also a free hot drink bar as well as free apples and grapes until around 10 O'Clock. Overall, a satisfying place to stay, especially for overnight.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank slidingsands87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

So charming and comfortable; many accommodation spaces available from singles to suites. Conveniently located to beach walk and walkable to train station and State Street. Very family friendly also. A wonderful gem on a quiet street in a beautiful little neighborhood. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: queen room next to pool has a little more noise--choose one further away if needing that size. Inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDanaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
356 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent three nights at the Franciscan as we celebrated a birthday with a longtime friend. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Franciscan is within walking distance of Stearns Wharf and State Street. Noise does occasionally pass between the rooms in this older property. The rooms were clean and well appointed.Overall we were happy with our very reasonably priced accommodations in Santa Barbara.Kudos to Carol, the breakfast lady, who had many stories and was just full of information about the Santa Barbara area as well as current events and activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing