We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet Motel near Beach with Friendly, Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet Motel near Beach with Friendly, Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Being welcomed by the breakfast hostess at the Franciscan Inn in Santa Barbara is a real treat. “Auntie Carol” is a delightful and super-friendly woman who clearly enjoys welcoming people, sharing information about the happenings of the day, and providing a generous continental breakfast. It’s always a pleasure to stay here in a quiet neighborhood close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    214
    61
    21
    3
See reviews for
140
203
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in CA which included an overnight stay in Santa Barbara at the Franciscan Inn. Beautiful property, great location. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. You can park the car and walk the town from this location. If I have the pleasure of returning to Beautiful Santa Barbara I would love to stay at the Franciscan once again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacksgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean, comfy inn close to everything. The only thing that was a little odd was the lady who stood there & handed out breakfast, she made you feel uncomfortable if you asked for a 2nd cup of coffee or a 2nd of anything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolY861SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The best choice considering the accommodation, price and location.. We stayed at room #142 and it was ean and really comfortable, loved the jacuzi and the lobby. The price is fair considering the facilities and the breakfast included.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waissengrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are visiting Santa Barbara on a tight budget..but dont want to comprise on the location ...with decent rooms and a great break fast, you have found the right place. A Swimming pool, great parking area.. alls well with this place!!

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms on the Ground Floor, and ask for an air conditioner if you need it. Some rooms dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HItesh_Bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond Du Lac
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Since my sister had already been there, she was very eager to show and share it with me on my first visit to Ca. It was very homey and comfortable. I would go back. We enjoyed the near by Marina, and a great restaurant recommended to us from a fellow traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WI-CountryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Franciscan. We arrived just as the afternoon sun was going down and the cookies came out of the oven. What a welcome!! This Inn is just a block from the beach and a few blocks from the main State Street. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was a double bedded with two double beds. Bathroom was adequate nothing fancy but clean. The room was quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate and everyone was friendly. Free wi fi in room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Homelovingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing