We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Its all in the family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Fond Du Lac
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its all in the family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Since my sister had already been there, she was very eager to show and share it with me on my first visit to Ca. It was very homey and comfortable. I would go back. We enjoyed the near by Marina, and a great restaurant recommended to us from a fellow traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WI-CountryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    218
    64
    22
    3
See reviews for
144
207
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Franciscan. We arrived just as the afternoon sun was going down and the cookies came out of the oven. What a welcome!! This Inn is just a block from the beach and a few blocks from the main State Street. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was a double bedded with two double beds. Bathroom was adequate nothing fancy but clean. The room was quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate and everyone was friendly. Free wi fi in room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Homelovingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

One block from the beach and 5 blocks from State Street – what more do you need? The rooms were clean, if a little dated, the pool and sauna area was also clean and fairly quiet. There was always fresh coffee on in reception and the breakfast of muffins, bagels and fruit was all that you needed. Really helpful staff who recommended places to go and things to see. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is unlike any of the other hotels I have stayed in. A workmate reccomendcloser toto me and I am so glad that I got this hotel after hotel hopping around Santa Barabra for the first few nights of my work trip.

I love thrniture in the rooms, big room size, and cleanliness of the place. What makes this place better than any other hotel I have been to is the staff and homely service that I got.
Its also a stones throw away from the beach and State street.

Next time im in SB, this is where im staying.
I only would have liked the tv to be closer to the bed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimbonilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Franciscan Inn is one of those little gems you hope never changes.
I first stayed there a year ago, was suitably impressed , and again over New Years....same impression. 2 blocks from SB west beaches , you can watch the sunrise over the water , then stroll down the sidewalk to a beach-view cafe , or carry on another 3 blocks to a wide selection of State Street eateries.
The Franciscan is a quiet low-rise haven within easy reach of downtown , but just a few blocks from the 101 freeway , although you would not know it....its very quiet . The rooms are realtively small , but well furnished , spotlessly clean , and equipped with aircon (cooling and heating) , which was useful during my stay as the overnight temperatures dipped to near freezing , an unusual occurence on this part of the CA coast. Beds are very comfortable , with a heavy comforter. The room I occupied did not have a microwave or fridge , so if thats important to you , check when booking if that is available elsewhere in the hotel , but did have an in-room complimentary coffee-maker . A continental breakfast is included in the room price , and is served up in the cosy reception area ( with open fire) by a very pleasant lady who chats to all while serving the coffee , muffins etc.
Courtyard parking is motel style adjacent to the rooms . Rates were $170/night weekend , and $130/night weekday during my stay in late December 2012. Theres also a hot-tub and pool , in a sheltered sun-trap . The street outside is also quiet , so no traffic noise .
The Franciscan does what it does extremely well , and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in single storey blocks - some in 2 storey blocks - check when booking as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staying at the Franciscan is like coming home. The suite style rooms are very nicely decorated and comfortable. The Complimentary breakfast is served by "Auntie Carol" and you really feel that you are being welcomed by a close relative. They serve warm cookies in the early evening and the staff could not be any friendlier! It is about one block from the Santa Barbara Beach and just a few blocks from the wharf. Great place to stay for families or romantic getaways!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite rooms they are very nice but even the regular rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

On our way to southern California we spent one night in Santa Barbara. The Franciscan Inn is very well equiped for the purpose of staying here one night. Easy to get to from highway 1, close to the beach and restaurants. The room was well kept. The downside was that it was rather noisy (neighbours). Breakfast is 'light' by American standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing