We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Franciscan Inn
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We happened on this place by chance, but it was a gem. The staff were very friendly and were keen to help. It's a motel, but it still looks great, the rooms are a good size, clean and comfy. There's an outdoor hot tub as well, and they provide extra towels for use. It was one of the best places we stayed on our journey. The main town is not far away, and the beach front is also close. The hotel provided convenient maps and advised us of some good places to go. There's even a breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    252
    71
    24
    3
See reviews for
176
240
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The Franciscan is a motel with a fantastic location, and large, clean suites with kitchenettes. The service was very nice. The pool and spa are in different parts of the motel, which is a bit of a bummer. The only issue was the lack of air conditioning. We had a standard suite which was very comfortable for our family of four, except that it was very hot and stuffy even with all the windows open. Seems odd that they haven't made this very standard upgrade considering what great location they have and the prices they charge-fair for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlissedoutMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Franciscan is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. As soon as we walked into the room we could smell the clean. We stayed there one night. Every time we saw staff they were busy cleaning. Every inch of this hotel was clean, the walkways, pool, you name it. We enjoyed our time there. Our son loved the pool. The staff were super friendly, and we loved the fresh baked cookies at 3pm and 5pm. We met a couple that said they had been going there every year for the past 15 years. When we return to Santa Barbara we will return to the Franciscan. It is the best value for the area, walking distance to everywhere, and staff are awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved the location of the Inn, close to beach and not on the noisy main drag.
Quaint and well-kept grounds. Pool was an added bonus.
Staff was terrific. They were gracious and accommodating. We booked our stay for three nights and after the first night realized we needed a larger space (with our 9 month old).
They switched our rooms at no extra charged and saved our vacation.
THANK YOU!!!
Nice little free breakfast to get you going in the morning too.

Room Tip: Suites are great if you need extra room and a kitchenette. Main rooms are a bit snug for more than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aubreybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the Franciscan Inn in the Manager's suite. The Inn is set on a side road within easy walking distance of the sea front. We enjoyed walking to the wharf and watching the pelicans. We had our own parking space in the grounds of the Inn and we had our own lounge and kitchen. I did not meet the breakfast lady but my husband went to collect some coffee and croissants and brought them back to the flat. He thought the lady was very helpful. The breakfast area was in the lobby/ lounge area so there were no dining tables.
The flat was very clean, nicely furnished and the daily maid service was excellent. The bed was a Queen sized bed, a King would have been better. On balance the location, cleanliness and good value at the Inn make it an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verinique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our return visit to Santa Barbara found us booking the Franciscan Inn again, for the sixth time. The inn is a charming, Spanish-style hacienda set in a neighborhood setting just a couple of blocks from the ocean. The Franciscan has all the necessary amenities and is clean and very affordable. The attentiveness and courteousness of the staff is what sets the place apart. They are genuinely helpful and if they don't have an answer, they will get one for you in short order. The 3:00 PM warm chocolate chip cookies are a nice little treat too. The one outstanding amenity that places this place above others is auntie Carol, the breakfast lady. She is a colorful, Santa Barbara Grand Dame, with a bit of a southern accent, that is as integral a part of the Inn as its adobe blocks. She is a bit of an eccentric but a colorful, entertaining, eye-opening experience each morning. We love her to pieces. For those individuals who are not "morning" people, you can take your breakfast out on a tray and catch a few more Zs. I find her to be a refreshing, cool, cerebral shower and I love to jump-start my day with her. She'll serve coffee, tea, hot chocolate, muffins, croissants, bagels, oatmeal, cold cereal, hard-boiled eggs and the like in a continental-style breakfast, all while providing the in-house entertainment with her experiences and outstanding sense of humor. She's a major reason for our return to the inn each year.
By Santa Barbara standards, the inn is also very affordable and the courtyard units near the pool are removed from the street (which isn't very busy to begin with) but the added privacy is appreciated. You really can't go wrong if you visit Santa Barbara and would like a quaint, cozy, charming and affordable place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAAbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel based on the recommendations of the visitors information booth. Check in was efficient and very informational. The room was very clean with a really comfortable bed. Fresh baked cookies served late afternoon and a continental breakfast in the morning. Personally I prefer breakfast items that are not as sugary. Simple toast or cereal would have been nice. We could not get Internet service the day we were there, however by morning they had it working. I suspect from reading past reviews this is an ongoing issue. Overall, for the price a very enjoyable stay. If in the area we would stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Boise1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Property: Franciscan Inn
Address: 109 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing