We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate, but long walk from the action”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Absolutely fine for a brief stay in delightful Santa Barbara. Well appointed room (I had a queen size single) with HBO, fridge and microwave. Completely clean, comfortable and presentable. It's a good 5 to 10 minute drive from the tourist centres so if you are on foot then prepare for a very long walk or taxi fares. I'd stay again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misty2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2009

I recently came to town for an event and stayed at this motel. I booked it because it was affordable and in a good location. When I checked in, I was very satisfied, as my room was clean and had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker and the television got a good amount of channels,. There was also air conditioning that kept the room very comfortable and cool. The location is a plus too, as a mall (La Cumbre Plaza) and two supermarkets (Vons and Gelson's) are within in walking distance. And last, but not least, the rates are good for anyone on a budget and you get extras in your room that other motels might charge extra for or might not even have at all. I recommend the Hacienda Motel to anyone planning a trip to Santa Barbara. And I forgot to mention that they provide free high speed internet, both wireless and wired, which is a must have for a business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPhillips6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I was hesitant at first reading all the negative reviews, but still made a reservation for a Queen sized bed for one night. The room was clean and equiped with the usual facilities, equipments. I also got a real cheap deal, so nothing to complain about. I just guess that reviews which are a bit older are from the time before the place had been renovated...
Its perfect for a 1-3 nights stay, I'd say...

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supercanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We had stayed in this motel 2 years ago because all other motels in the area were booked. At that time it was a motel for construction workers staying in the area long term. The price was extremely reasonable and the location great so we could overlook the rundown condition and the noise from our neighbors. This year we needed a room for 2 nights to attend a graduation. All of the hotels in the area had doubled their prices for the graduation weekend. Remembering the motel and the nice staff I called to make a reservation many weeks in advance. Their price was highly inflated also but they assured me the hotel had been renovated and was worthy of the $200 + per night.
We really enjoyed the location and the food and drink at THE TEE OFF next door so booked it. They should have had professional help with the so-called renovation. The closet contained a full sized stove and a small sink which were of no use taking up valuable space. The room had furniture so large and unsuitable it was very difficult to move around. The linens and decor were left-overs from before the "renovation". For the big bucks I at least expect upgraded amenities such as soap bigger than a postage stamp and a working internet connection.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miraban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

The two queen beds room was definitely on the small side, but it had everything - fridge, microwave, even a gas range; definitely equipped for extended stays. Clean and inexpensive ($88 a night, no breakfast).

It's about 5-7 minutes' drive from Santa Barbara's main sights.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda Motel for only one night. The room was a little small but had a cosy feel to it. A little rough in places, but was fine for a one night stay. The manager was very helpful and friendly. The location was a pretty average part of santa barbara.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Room was clean, big enough, nice, adequate. Terrific location. They asked for $69 for a bed for two. I asked for AAA rate, and was offered $65. Considering almost everyplace around here is $200, I feel this was a find. Don't love it, but it's more than adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Lodge
Sandpiper Lodge
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 3643 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2521 (Formerly Hacienda Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $116 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete renovation on March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Santa Barbara
Hacienda Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing