We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mid-Century Motel”
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We love to stay in older motor court style motels that have been updated and are well cared for. This one certainly fits our liking. It was built in 1941 and has been extensively renovated and is very well cared for. Location is great with an easy walk from the train station. Close to the beach as well as an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms are smaller by modern standards, but are not the cookie cutter style so prevalent today. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable, amazing large shower with dual heads, flat screen TV, good high speed internet, and decent continental breakfast. The only complaint is the coffee, both in the room and at breakfast. It is weak and has a bitter taste. Other than that though, we really liked this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

I am sorry that the coffee was not suitable to your taste. It remains to be difficult to choose a coffee that agrees with the wide range of taste. Thanks for staying at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 587 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you need to say in Santa Barbara, this should be your number one choice. We passed several pleasant looking Motels but we were so glad we stayed at Marina Beach. It is very cute, our room was behind reception, so essentially was not facing the U shaped complex itself, but we still felt very safe and secure. The room was clean, had a huge bath and a shower with two shower heads.

We had a very relaxing stay here, and hope to stay here again. What a little gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank struggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Your nice review is much appreciated!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had no prior reservation when we reached Santa Barbara as part of our tour. We tried one Inn but a look at their upmarket prices drove us away, but they did recommend us to look on Bath Street where there are several motels.

We got a room with two queen beds, a kitchen, outside patio with furniture, and a large bathroom for $164 for a Thursday night in November. Included is a great continental breakfast with a large choice of cereals, bagels, pastries, yoghurts, orange juice and coffee etc. The motel has a number of free bikes you can use. As it is situated within 150 yards of the beach it is great fun to use them along the well laid out bike tracks which follow the beach. Wi-Fi is included in your room rate.

Staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Regrettably we could only stay for one night, but if ever back in this area we will most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 20 is the one we had and is recommended. Not all have a private outside patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks for your nice review. We are continuously working on maintaining our property; this year we are working on new furniture, artwork and plantation blinds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The thought of staying at a "motel" ordinarily does not appeal to me but the price, convenience to the beach and State Street, cleanliness, free bikes available to use during the day to explore town made it the perfect choice for a one-night getaway. We were in town for a wedding and rather than pay the price per night at the wedding reception venue, we opted for Marina Beach a quick 1.7 miles away from the wedding. We were not dissapointed. We plan to return with our children in the future (as this was a parents-only getaway). We arrived a little early and the staff was nice enough to have our room quickly cleaned so that we could check-in early. We used the bikes to ride around town.You really can't beat the price, location, or friendliness. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

thanks for your nice review, we appreciate the time you have taken to say nice things about our motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived early for check in but despite this, within 15 minutes we were able to check in as our room was ready. This was a great start to our two night stay in Santa Barbara.
Check in was quick and our room easy to find due to the simple layout of the motel.
The room itself was clean and comfortable, the highlight for me being the bathroom and air con. The shower was a double one so was roomy to say the least! the air con was just right and much needed as the temperature was near 90 degrees during some parts of the day and also very warm during the nights.
The location is literally on the beach, you turn right onto the street and you're there. The walk to State Street takes around 15-20 minutes, the same for the main pier.
The motel also had a useful food order in service, you basically decide what you want from a menu and they deliver to your door. We used this and were pleasantly surprised on the quality of the food.
We didn't eat breakfast here so cannot comment on this aspect (no bad reason) but went to Sambo's down the street - definitely consider this as a place to eat.
It was an expensive stay but we were staying on a Friday and Saturday and for the comfort we enjoyed it was worth it.
I would definitely consider staying here again if i were to visit Santa Barbara in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemPepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We appreciate your detailed review. It is very helpful for other travelers to your uncensored view of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Definitely a great option if you are traveling with a low budget.

Great location! Very clean and comfortable, and a more than acceptable breakfast!

The staff is super kind, and the free bicycles are superb to enjoy your stay in this lovely town.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks for your kind words about our property. Some of our rooms are small, but well decorated with all new bathrooms, carpet and bedding. And our location is wonderful!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This motel offered the best price for my stay in Santa Barbara,and I was not disappointed.
It's located close to the beach,pier and State St,as well as the Amtrak Station,which is how I was travelling.
The staff were all helpful and friendly.I thought the breakfast was very good value,with cereals,bread,pastries,yoghurt,fresh fruit,juice,tea and coffee.
The room I had was fairly modern,clean and a good size.While the air conditioner was noisy,I find that in most places,so really best to cool the room off and use the fan if you want to hear the tv or sleep in peace.
I felt very secure here,being on my own,and while I didn't drive,there is parking available,as well as free bikes to use during the day.
I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Santa Barbara.It was the best value I could get on a limited budget,and I was relieved when it turned out to be a top spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

your comprehensive review is appreciated. future guests can get an idea on whether Marina Beach Motel is the right place for them or not. Our location is excellent...midway between the Santa Barbara pier and harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $158 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing