We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really great!”
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a really great place. Our room was a good size with a great bathroom with a huge hot tub. It was clean, bright, and modern. The location is great, only a block from the ocean and two from State St. The permanent free coffee in reception and the continental breakfast were superb and the small gardens lovely. We particularly liked the humming birds that seem to live in the garden. If I have any complaint it it that the parking is "unassigned", in our case this meant that after we checked in I couldn't park near the room and in fact had trouble getting into the room as another guest had left a huge pickup so close to our door it was almost impossible to get around it. All credit to the receptionist who sorted this out for me and the inconsiderate fellow guest didn't return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

thank you for your nice review. and I am glad that you asked the staff for help with parking situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 587 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Loved this place! Nice, clean rooms, helpful, friendly and polite front desk staff and great proximity to the best of the Santa Barbara waterfront area. Nice, quiet location off of the main drag (Cabrillo Blvd.) between Stearn's Wharf and the SB Yacht Club. Unpretentious, purely enjoyable stay is what you will get here. Mini kitchen in our room had refrigrator, microwave and sink. Continental breakfast in office was what you would expect. Cool bathroom with glass shower and other niceties. Cute place to stay in Santa Barbara overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichFlournoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

thanks for taking time to write the review. I appreciate your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Located less than one block from the waterfront, this motel is money well spent. It is not very expensive compared to the competition around at the same level of standards. Breakfast is included and very nice, you can take it either on the porche of the main office or inside with the AC if it's too hot outside. Bikes are available if you'd like to go for a quick ride along the sea (takes less than an hour back and forth). The rooms are well equiped, large beds, very nice and luxurious bathroom, the TV was a bit old but we didn't really care. The AC works fine too. There is a little patio/garden located in the center of the parking with some tables and a bench, pleasant at night.

Room Tip: left aisle, seems that the rooms (bathroom) were refurbished lately
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tZar972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

your recent review was a good summary of our property. we realize that our tvs are large and outdated. we have ordered new flat screen tvs for installation this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place is a GEM. 1/2 block to the beach, 2 short blocks walking along the beach to the pier where there are restaurants galore. The rooms are totally updated modern and beautiful. Super clean gorgeous bath rooms with rain shower shower heads, glass shower door with tile floors and pretty vanity. Beds are comfy with totally covered mattresses to prevent any mites ect. With nice clean white sheets and fluffy comforter with clean white duvet cover. Most of the rooms have perfect little kitchenettes with granite counters, mini fridges, microwaves and stove top and a little table and chairs. We were in Santa Barbara for a family wedding so many family members stayed there in seperate rooms. Nice courtyard grassy area with lounge chairs and tables and chairs. Parking is right in front of each room. Our kids were all excited about the bikes for guests use and the Suri bicycle cart that they used in the courtyard area to play around on. The front desk is a beautiful cottage with patio and chairs where you can sit and relax and to have your complimentary breakfast they supply. Tons of pasteries, bagels, muffins and cereal with fresh squeezed oj and delicious coffee is what you can expect. Super quiet location, and it was fun to be able to leave the motel doors open and have the kids go from room to room while we relaxed and drank coffee in the am. Should be called marina beach cottages since there is really nothing "motel"ish about it! Great price, a lovely stay and highly recommended. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thedobsonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Your review is amazing!!! It couldn't have been better, you really took the time to check things out and mention a lot in your review. You were the first one ever to mention that our mattresses are purposely bagged to avoid mites, bed bugs, etc. that can be found in international destinations. I hope the family wedding was fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful little motel, close to the beach, only stayed for 1 night as doing a road trip down the coast, however, this motel sold the area to me…I would defiantly like to visit Santa Barbara again and this time stay a little longer.
The motel has some bicycles you can borrow for the day, which I thought was a great touch and we made use of these before we checked out.
Also, the breakfast was great and a lot of choice.
Cute and comfy motel…..highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine5065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Quite a few people regret that they only stopped at Marina Beach for one night. Next time you come to SB, please stay around for awhile to see everything SB has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this motel. The guest room is very cozy and clean. There is a small kitchen inside the room with kitchenware available under request. The bed is very comfortable and big and we had a good night of sleep! The bathroom is very clean with cute amenities. The breakfast is ok but not with many options. Located within 5 minutes walk from the pier. Furthermore, there are bikes available under request (but for daily use only). Santa Barbara is a beautiful city with a gorgeous sunrise. Unfortunately, we spend just one night in the Marina Beach Motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelolapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

thanks for your nice review. the next time you come to SB, why don't you stay for 2 or 3 nights so that you can enjoy all that SB offers?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great motel with full kitchen, free push bike hire, walking distance to everywhere, we had two nights here and thought it was one of the best motels we have stayed in on our trip, great value would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We appreciate your kind comments about our property. It really gives readers a good idea of what they will experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $158 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing