We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great location. Close tp beach, harbour and state street (restaurants etc)
Good hotel. Very clean. Room newly renovated. Good beds/matraces.
Good breakfast, bicycles, nice terasse.
Good value for price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcromm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am glad our accommodations met your needs. Give us another try on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    194
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
98
286
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
288 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Marina Beach Motel is a flash back to the 50's & 60's with a very modern twist. You park in front of your door, easy unload of suitcases just as I remember traveling with my parents. However, entering a room you find a modern, up-to-date furnished room. We traveled with 2 other couples and found each of our 3 rooms were unique. We had the smallest of the 3 rooms but it was spacious enough with a great double head shower. Theres so much to do in the Santa Barbara area that staying in the room is not what you want to do. The motel offers beach bikes to ride on the wide long path just a half block down Bath Street. In the center of the parking area is a green space with tables, chairs for relaxing. We spent time in the evening at the round table as well as having our breakfast the next morning outside. There are tables and a lounge near the office.
The breakfast was better than I expected. Fresh muffin tops, pastries, cold cereal, oatmeal mix, yogurt, milk, juice, and coffee all day long. They have a water dispenser that delivers hot or cold water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank closch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your write up about the Marina Beach. Your description of the property has hit the nail on the head. It is very helpful to travelers who do not know the property that are looking for unbiased reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This being our third visit to Santa Barbara , we decided to try this motel .The room we had was very clean and comfortable.
It is a small motel which makes it very peaceful and quiet.It is in a excellent location with a short walk away from the pier and restaurants.WE found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.We would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andyshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for your positive review, it falls into the vast majority of travelers that have stayed at our property. Thanks for letting us know how you feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Like the previous reviewer I can't understand the good reviews - I booked this place based on those reviews and felt really let down. We arrived an night early and the Marina Beach had no availability so we stayed in the West Beach Inn right next door which was fabulous - we wished we could have stayed there as the Marina Beach is dated and the room was small with out dated furniture and the TV was ancient - I felt that a pet had been in the room - overall it just didn't feel great. The bed clothes are poor quality and rough.
The positives are that it is beside West Beach, State Street, the pier and they have bikes which you can have free also the breakfast and the staff are very friendly. This is a basic motel which by Irish standards would get about 2 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
as in the previous review, we now have another negative opinion. Having two negative reviews in a row makes me suspicious. I hope that the writers of the last two reviews would please contact me so that I can have a good discussion about their dissatisfaction, so that I can rectify the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I cannot understand all the extremely positive reviews. For $250/night we had a really tiny room (only room enough for the bed and a TV) with a very noisy air conditioner during a hot spell. It was like staying in the smallest of NYC hotel rooms, where you can hardly open your luggage.

At night we wanted to open a window but it would not be safe since all rooms are on the first floor and can be easily broken into through an open window. This is simply an upgraded (in terms of price) motel. The breakfast was a more than adequate continental breakfast.]

for this high price, we would have expected something a little more charming than Motel 6!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
After many, many positive reviews, it just proves the point that it is very difficult to please everyone. I am pleased that most people enjoy our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Santa Barbara over the 2013 Fourth of July weekend, and stayed at the Marina Beach Motel with our little dog. The motel is located roughly a block from the West Beach and about two blocks from Stearn’s Wharf. Although it is on a rather quiet picturesque side street, it is walking distance from many restaurants, State Street, and the ocean. We enjoyed the fireworks from the Wharf on the Fourth, although we probably could have seen them from the motel!
The motel is in the style of a classic motor lodge with rooms in a horseshoe around parking spots and a small patch of green with tables and chaise lounges in the center. We never had a problem finding a parking spot, and also felt the place was exceedingly quiet even during the daytime. Our room had a very comfortable king bed, a bathroom with shower, table/chairs, a tube TV, and a small kitchenette. It looked practically brand new with pretty crown modeling and new paint.
The breakfast is not the finest spread I’ve seen, but it is free and it was more than good enough. There were many types of pastries, as well as cereal, oatmeal, bagels and toast. It could have benefited from a few more fruit selections like bananas (which are inexpensive). There was also never enough breakfast chairs and tables, so more than once we ended up bringing our breakfast back to the room or sitting at the table/chairs in the center grassy area.
The hotel also offers free beach cruisers (bikes) to guests, which is a great feature we used almost every day we were there. Some of the bikes are a little rusty and worn, but they work great and are the perfect way to get around downtown Santa Barbara.
As I mentioned, we brought our dog and he was welcomed from the start (although understandably he was not welcome in the office during breakfast service). However, there was no grass for him to relieve himself as the grass in the center of the horseshoe specifically did not allow pets. Not to bother, we walked him to the hotel entrance and he found the perfect spot in the grass along the street.
The service is my only MINOR complaint. The gentleman who checked us in was pleasant and professional. However, a younger girl who worked at the front counter in the mornings with what appeared to be her friend was a little unprofessional, as we spent our breakfast one morning listening to the two of them give each other advice on how to “train a man like a dog”. It was not very relaxing and rather childish, I didn’t want to hear this type of chatter on my vacation and I’m sure the many other guests who heard them did not either. She was also rather militant when asked to take a bike. She demanded to know exactly when we were leaving and told us we had to leave within minutes of taking a bike as bikes were in “high demand”. This was even though there were about 12 other bikes still in the rack. It seemed a little unnecessary.
Overall, the Marina Beach Motel is a wonderful accommodation choice particularly for families, those with pets or even couples looking to be close to everything, but still enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep and a free breakfast. Santa Barbara is a gorgeous place and this little piece of paradise will help you enjoy all it has to offer. I highly recommend this motel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the kitchenette -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwysL8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it gives prospective guests a lot of good detail about our property. I apologize for the unprofessional behavior of our desk clerks while you were there. It can be difficult to properly supervise the staff at all times. Normally, our front desk staff gets good remarks for their friendliness, I will follow up with our group. Our continental breakfast does fall a little bit short on a few areas, primarily due to the lack of kitchen space/storage. We have tried bananas in the past with mixed reviews. We will begin buying bananas again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This family owned motel is one of the best! From the moment we made our reservation 2 months ago to the moment we left we had the most positive of experiences. Initially we had to alter our reservation, this was done promptly and courteously and augured well for our trip. On arrival the staff were warm and welcoming. The room was to the highest of standards. Breakfast which was included was excellent ..cereals, breads, pastries and a wide variety of teas and coffee on offer. There was the added touches of the availability of daily papers, beach towels and bikes which added to the experience notwithstanding the fact that the motel is feet from the beach and within easy reach of State St. If you're heading to SB this is the place to stay. Well done to the Warren Family ...continued success!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Our family appreciates that you took time to write the review. We have owned the Marina Beach Motel since 1976. We continue to upgrade, try to keep up to current standards in the industry. Our next projects are artwork, furniture and new window shutters for the guest rooms for winter '13/'14.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Property: Marina Beach Motel
Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing