We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Motel Near Beach”
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Marina Beach Motel. It's a 50's style motel that has been beautifully renovated in the past couple years. Perfect location near West Beach between Stearns Wharf & Harbor. Room 29 has a King bed & big bathroom with clawfoot tub & separate shower. Tile throughout on floors and walls. Friendly front office staff and great rates for Santa Barbara. Breakfast is continental. No charge for parking. No charge to borrow bicycles during the day.

Room Tip: All rooms are small but nicely appointed. We've stayed in Rooms 28 & 29, both near office...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thanks for giving us a good review. Our remodel is ongoing...all rooms have new bathrooms that are sized to current day standards. We are currently searching for the perfect new furniture in all rooms later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Marina Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 584 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is close to the beach. You can easily walk to the downtown or take the bikes. They offer a free continental breakfast, free parking and free bikes. The breakfast was with scones, bagels, cake, toast, croissants, jam, coffee, tea, juice. More than in other motels. The rooms are big enough and clean. Also it is very quiet at night. The bathroom is clean as well with a shower with two showerheads. I would come again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roserl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for writing a nice review about Marina Beach. We have found a nice niche for many travelers- a good balance between value and cost. We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is my place in Santa Barbara. Close to the pier. Dog friendly. Great rooms. It's just what it should be. Not Santa Barbara "bougie"...a sweet spot. Going to send my parent for their anniversary. For a motel so close to the beach and in the heart of it all the price and quality can not be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Great review!! Our location is excellent, close to most of the waterfront and downtown activities that visitors want. We hope to see you parents for their anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice suite, great staff...very relaxing. Not five stars because the Wi-fi went off almost the entire first day and they were like "it will come back tomorrow..don't worry, just enjoy". But nice breakfast with bagels, scones, cakes, croissants, fresh orange juice, great coffee...friendly lady at front desk . Recommended. My suite had a nice patio too. We took out two dogs along for 15 bucks a night per dog, non-refundable.

Room Tip: Pick one with a patio...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanjayaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We appreciate that you took time to give us your review. We have fixed the wifi problem since you were here, hope you return some time soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wish every motel was like the Marina Beach Motel! An affordable price for a wonderful room with one of the best showers I've experienced in long while. I guess they have been remodeling and updating rooms - it was a real treat. We loved the close walk to the water, the bikes for loan and the breakfast was hearty with good coffee. Lastly, the staff was excellent and friendly (they even gave me a free stamp for my post card)! Looking forward to going back...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We appreciate your review of our property. You were correct, we have finished remodeling 100% of our bathrooms/kitchens as well as new carpet. We'll have new furniture, artwork, lamps, etc next fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Adorable motel in perfect location for car-less Santa Barbara. Tastefully done inside and out with attention to old California charm. Convenient kitchenette in my room. Walls a little thin but overall didn't impact my stay. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a nice review. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recently visited Santa Barbara and the Marina Beach Motel. We had booked a "King w/kitchen" at $119.99, which is a bargain in expensive Santa Barbara.

On arrival we were given the keys to #17 and were delighted to find a totally renovated room with crown molding, a fresh coat of paint, new carpeting and a small but very well designed, new "corner-kitchen" with a granite top, mini-fridge, oven and micro-wave. We didn't notice any silverware, pots and pans in the kitchen area so you may be on your own in this regard. But...with all the restaurants in Santa Barbara, who comes to cook...!!

The room was not particularly large, but it was obvious that someone had given some thoughts as to the layout of the room....it was very user-friendly!!

The bathroom was also totally renovated. It was easy to see that this was not a cheap re-model. All bathroom fixtures were first class.

We were told that all "king rooms" at the motel have been refurbished in a similar fashion. We were duly impressed...!!!

The location cannot be better as many other reviewers have noted...1/2 a block from the harbor and beach area.

Highly recommend...!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for your great review. You couldn't have said it better, our remodel is complete (for now) and everything turned out well. We are now searching for the perfect new furniture, new shutters, artwork, etc. to complete the upgrade by next fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $202 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing