We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wish every motel was like the Marina Beach Motel! An affordable price for a wonderful room with one of the best showers I've experienced in long while. I guess they have been remodeling and updating rooms - it was a real treat. We loved the close walk to the water, the bikes for loan and the breakfast was hearty with good coffee. Lastly, the staff was excellent and friendly (they even gave me a free stamp for my post card)! Looking forward to going back...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We appreciate your review of our property. You were correct, we have finished remodeling 100% of our bathrooms/kitchens as well as new carpet. We'll have new furniture, artwork, lamps, etc next fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 607 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Adorable motel in perfect location for car-less Santa Barbara. Tastefully done inside and out with attention to old California charm. Convenient kitchenette in my room. Walls a little thin but overall didn't impact my stay. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a nice review. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recently visited Santa Barbara and the Marina Beach Motel. We had booked a "King w/kitchen" at $119.99, which is a bargain in expensive Santa Barbara.

On arrival we were given the keys to #17 and were delighted to find a totally renovated room with crown molding, a fresh coat of paint, new carpeting and a small but very well designed, new "corner-kitchen" with a granite top, mini-fridge, oven and micro-wave. We didn't notice any silverware, pots and pans in the kitchen area so you may be on your own in this regard. But...with all the restaurants in Santa Barbara, who comes to cook...!!

The room was not particularly large, but it was obvious that someone had given some thoughts as to the layout of the room....it was very user-friendly!!

The bathroom was also totally renovated. It was easy to see that this was not a cheap re-model. All bathroom fixtures were first class.

We were told that all "king rooms" at the motel have been refurbished in a similar fashion. We were duly impressed...!!!

The location cannot be better as many other reviewers have noted...1/2 a block from the harbor and beach area.

Highly recommend...!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for your great review. You couldn't have said it better, our remodel is complete (for now) and everything turned out well. We are now searching for the perfect new furniture, new shutters, artwork, etc. to complete the upgrade by next fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A my daughter's recommendation we stayed at the Marina Beach Motel. Very good location half a block from the marina and waterfront. A very pleasant exterior area and very clean rooms. Comfortable beds and a pleasant area serving breakfast. Some work was being done on several rooms, which somehow delayed the arrival of hot water in the evening and morning. Wen the work is complete, we were assured the water would arrive more promptly. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for writing your review. All of our remodel work is completed, 100% of all bathrooms are upgraded and new carpet throughout the property. The hot water problems have been solved, thanks for letting us know it wasn't perfect!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived at Santa Barbara during the Viva La Fiesta festival in August. It was very difficult finding accommodation. However, this motel was great. We booked four months ahead and they were prepared and welcoming at our arrival.

The rooms were small, but very clean and refreshing. They have everything you need and is very close to the dock, pier and main street. All in short walking distance.

I will stay here again when we visit SB

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATip0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for your nice review. Since you were here, we have completed remodeling 100% of our bathrooms and new carpet throughout. Come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well, it's just a motel, so don't expect too much. But for a motel it is very good. Well located (not 37 steps away from the beach as they advertise, but really close), clean and with positive and helpful people at the reception. It was above my expectations and I liked it

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thanks for your review. We do advertise 37 steps from the beach, it is our effort to be lighthearted, we are VERY close to the beach. I like to joke that Kobe Bryant paced off those steps, though it really never happened. I am sorry if we misconstrued the actual number of steps. I am glad you enjoyed our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

this is such a cute property - i am typically wary when there is "motel" in the name - but this place is great! clean and comfortable rooms (if dogs were ever in this room, i wasn't able to tell), glad to have the small refrigerator. great location to the beach, wharf & shops. we didn't use the free bikes, but that is a great offering. The staff was extremely friendly and they were very responsive to e-mails prior to the stay.

The hiccup we had was that the room type we originally booked through booking.com (2 queen beds) wasn't available, so they put us in a King bed with sofa sleeper.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glitterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thanks for reviewing our seaside motel in Santa Barbara, we appreciate your comments. Some travelers are turned off by our classic 'motel' designation, but when they read TripAdvisor, it is clear that we are a comfortable lodging facility, consistently in the top ten in Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn & Suites
Franciscan Inn & Suites
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
816 reviews
0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,286 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $157 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing