We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara Hotel”
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Beach Motel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the Marina Beach Motel for two nights. The room was clean and spacious and I found the staff friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised with the bikes at the hotel, which enabled me to ride along the oceanfront. The continental breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaG023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, we really do appreciate the time you have taken to give us some feedback. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Marina Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 584 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Marina Beach Motel is a great find! Rooms are always spotless and they have just what we need... a wonderful bed, enough room to feel comfortable, a clean bathroom, and a good continental breakfast. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is right across the street. Having bikes right there to use makes it easy to take an beach ride. Close enough to State Streeet to go for dinner... Excellent service & great price! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeachinCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were pleasantly suprised by the hotel. The room was clean and the bathroom very big with a nice bath tub. The location is the beach and Steams Wharf. I recommend this motel to everyone who is visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josmarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a road trip up the west coast and it was a very welcome stop. Room and bathroom were very clean, with a huge double shower in the bathroom.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and we took advantage of the free bikes to explore along the beach front.

Easy walking distance to explore the area.

Very nice breakfast included in price - cereal, toast, pastries, yoghurt, teas/coffee all we really needed.

Would definitely recommend it, this motel was better than another hotel we stayed in up the coast which was double the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salby52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Marina Beach is a quaint, restored courtyard motel just blocks off the beach inSanta Barbara. The rooms are cozy, but finished with nice touches. There is enough room for two persons to be engaged in independent activities without getting in each other's way, so it is great for short stays. For longer stays, one might prefer more space. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and it clearly is a destination people return to. The continental breakfast is very nice and there are multiple outdoor seating areas to enjoy your breakfast. As with all courtyard settings, you are at the mercy of the noise generated in the courtyard itself and no one is immune to the key fob security honks as people are locking their cars...even at 6AM!

Room Tip: Request a room as far back in the courtyard as possible. We ended up front and there was a bit of tr...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight here and was overall very happy, the location was good, and I used the free bikes as it was great to cycle by the beach, I recommend that! There was plenty to eat for breakfast, and the room had a fridge and microwave, also mini toiletries was handy, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Flew from Melbourne, Australia picked up a car at LAX and drove directly to Marina Beach Motel.
Room ready and checked in early. Comfortable and clean.
Fabulous position close to gorgeous beach. Loved garden area where we chatted to fellow guests and had breakfast. Staff very friendly.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $201 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing