We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Presidio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Presidio Motel
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Spent the night there after a long day of driving. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the room was clean and tidy. Great location to jump on a bike and explore or even walk into town. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janabanana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at the Presidio. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms as well as the customer service that we deliver to our guests. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore Santa Barbara from our convenient location. Please come and visit us again soon!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    108
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
137
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed there for three days, very nice experience: very clean, big room, nice and very helpful staff. What you should do: ask for the (free) bikes and go for a ride at the beach, grab a bite at "Carlito's" down the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate your kind words and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been very lucky to stay at two very good motels this trip,and this is one of them.I doubt you could hope for a better location in Santa Barbara,on State St,a relatively short walk to the beach,and surrounded by restaurants,bars and shops.The rooms are large and very clean,which to me is the most important thing with any accommodation.There is very good free wifi,a few high end hotels should take a lesson from this,the bathroom is large and again very clean.The bed is very comfortable,there is a good size TV and good heating.The staff are all excellent,friendly and helpful.I would not hesitate in recommending this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XLPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to discuss your experience! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Fortunately, we are located centrally in Santa Barbara which allows our guests to enjoy all the sites with a short walk! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for 7 night over the holiday.
Room: Fantastic room. It was clean, safe, comfortable and heated (the temps at night would dip into the 30s-40s). The bathroom was spacious and very clean. Loved shampoo/conditioner/soap in wall dispensers. The room was well lit and had enough outlets for all my electronics. A small closet in the bathroom with very nice hangers.

Location: The nearest market is right on the next block so if you need pop/snacks, it's right there. The motel is right on State street, the most happening place in town; I didn't have a car and found that I could walk everywhere I needed to go. The streets are well lit and I was very comfortable walking back to the hotel alone at night (though I was always in by 10pm).

Amenities: They have ample bike rental (free) on the property if you want to explore further.
There's a great sun deck that overlooks State street, which is a fabulous place to lounge around and read or have a cocktail before dinner. I know there was a continental breakfast available, but I didn't eat it (too many great restaurants close by!). The internet was free and RELIABLE. That has not been my experience with other hotels in Santa Barbara; I was very pleased that they offered this service.

Important: This is NOT a motel for families with small children. There's no pool and it's located on a busy road. It's also not a motel for high maintenance, 4-star hotel types. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't your place. It's perfect for couples, friends traveling together, business people, or solo travelers like myself.....for people who need a place to sleep and store their stuff but plan to spend their time out enjoying the beautiful city of Santa Barbara.

I would highly recommend the Presidio to anyone and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelvin069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We really appreciate the fact that you chose to spend the holidays with us and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our property. We are very fortunate to be placed in the heart of Santa Barbara so that all of our guests can either walk to take advantage of our free bicycles to enjoy the town. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon in the future and thank you again for your stay with us.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a very interseting place to stay. Close to everything. Great staff at the desk and in house keeping. you hear State St., but hopefully with new windows that won't be a problem when done. Room was very clean and furnishing looked new. Shower and bed good. Didn't like the soap, shampoo and conditioner on shower wall. Breakfast miniscule but OK to tide you over 'til you get a great breakfast in many places within 5 minutes. Price was right.

Room Tip: We wanted ground floor. Just ask for what you want, staff great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chienee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the sites of Santa Barbara from our location. We definitely try our best to accommodate each of our guest's wishes so, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will visit us again some time soon and thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We checked in here at the last minute, and were looking for a cheap place to stay.

The room was clean and quiet, but the bed was very uncomfortable - way too soft and difficult for two people to sleep in (despite the Queen size).

Despite being quite cheap and fronting the main road, the room was actually pretty quiet. Our room was right next to the main deck (which would be a great place to enjoy the sunset in summer with a cold beer!), but we had no problems with noise.

Room Tip: Bring you own pillows and prepare for soft beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you found the beds to be too soft during your stay and would like to extend our sincerest apologies. As you may understand, it can be difficult to find a bed that suits every person that stays at our property because some like firmer mattresses and others like them to be softer. We do try our very best to accommodate all of our guest's requests so, we would welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. When that time comes, please let us know that you are looking for a firmer mattress and we will do everything we can to make sure that happens.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share information regarding your recent stay as all feedback helps us to ensure that your future experience with us is seamless and enjoyable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night on trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. It was only a few blocks from all the shopping and restaurants on State St. They have free bike rentals which we used for a few hours to ride the bike bath along the beach. The room was fairly updated and clean. The reception was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room towards the rear is probably more quiet, if you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnySyosset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to enjoy our beach bicycles! We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon! Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the Presidio.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.5 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Property: Presidio Motel
Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Presidio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing