We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unparalleled!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unparalleled!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

First (though hopefully not last) visit to the Hyatt Santa Barbara. Check-in was pleasantly efficient. Room was to-die-for (Santa Cruz Suite) and surprisingly quite despite its location between the local residents and a busy thoroughfare. Room service was equally accommodating (we ordered drinks from the bar and had it delivered to our room...what service!). Daily cup of complimentary coffee from the Bistro was a bonus before heading out to enjoy the sun and the beach. Awesome place for casual beachside dining just across the street (East Beach Grill). Short jaunt to more tasty downtown eateries. The hotel shares a street with the neighborhood residents and street parking, when available, is a nice alternative to self-parking available from the hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean view room. You will appreciate the wonderful breeze through the sliding screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarrySF0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello. Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you spent your first visit to Santa Barbara at our hotel, all of us here appreciate it! I have shared your kind comments with our team members, thank you very much for the recognition. And yes, I too hope it is not the last time you visit us, I hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    316
    294
    203
    140
See reviews for
414
465
37
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for a few nights at this Hyatt location and loved it. It is not a very fancy Hyatt but it is consistent with its surrounding and the spirit of a laid-back beach community. The rooms are clean, specious and attractive. The gardens are lovely. The staff is friendly. The location is fantastic. We didn't get a chance to use the pool. The layout of the hotel is not my favorite but most hotels in the area are built this way. There is a ridiculous charge of $26 for parking but street parking right on the street is free and easy to find in the winter. I am not believe it is as easy to find in the summer. Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandarina711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello. Thank you so very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the team members were friendly and of service. I will share your kind comments with our housekeeping department as well, thank you for the recognition of cleanliness. I am truly sorry for the valet parking fees, this system gives us the opportunity to stack cars and have parking spaces available to guests that return from dinner or work in the evening, something that our previous guests were experiencing inconvenience with. I truly hope you understand our position with this matter. Thank you kindly for your review and I look forward to your next stay with us. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balboa Island, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed at this property many years ago when it was the Mar Monte, what an improvement! This place is beautiful. Management and staff couldn't be better. Waiting in the lobby to be picked up by our son (he was late) the front desk staff informed us about Coffee Service in the restaurant, (free) insisted on watching our bags, great service, great room and across the street from the beach. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Greetings. Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. I have shared your comments with the team members, thank you for the recognition! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as the valued guest that you are. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently stayed at this fine hotel in beautiful Santa Barbara for my daughter's wedding.
It was a wonderful experience. The employees bent over backwards to help me, even with the smallest request! I first met Marie at the Front Desk when I was searching for rooms for the Bride and myself. She was so kind, helpful and remained a wonderful resource throughout our stay. Jason, the Valet, was also very friendly and patiently showed a number of rooms to me and offered help when we needed it. Finally, Leighann in sales was a tremendous asset to our wedding party and was so very sweet in taking care of our group. All in all, we couldn't have picked a better place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Greetings. Thank you so very much for your review! I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay during such important date. We know it is an important date for you so we certainly make it important to us. I have properly recognized and thanked Marie, Jason and Leighann for their efforts, thank you very much for your recognition! I look forward to being of service to you again in the near future. With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice location but room was not worth the price. The power was not working in the bathroom and we had no shower curtain. The tub was plugged and no water drained at all. We called to get it repaired but nothing was done. Staff at the lobby was helpful in getting us a different room but did not credit us or anything for the bad experience. The second room we got smelled like bad potpourri. Will not stay at this place again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank in_style900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Greetings. Thank you for taking time to share your review. I am truly sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent stay. I have shared your comments with the managers responsible for the areas mentioned, they are being addressed as we focus on improving our operation so that we may better serve you next time you visit our hotel as the valued guest that you are. Please feel free to reach out to me directly off line in the event I may be of assistance in preparation to your next visit to Santa Barbara. Thank you kindly for the opportunity and for sharing your review. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a really nice hotel that looks - and feels - like a Spanish hacienda. Very different from any other hotel I have stayed in. The staff were wonderful - they were so eager to answer any question or fill any request and they did it so cheerfully. Very impressed. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had anything you could think of to eat for breakfast. The room was spacious and the view of the ocean was spectacular. Couldn't have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view - it really is a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello. Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with the members of our teams to include our Executive Chef, thank you for your recognition, it really means a lot to us all. Please come back and see us again soon, we'll be happy to be of service to you. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights for a work conference. I found the hotel staff to be incredibly professional and more than happy to help with any requests. The rooms were very clean and house keeping did an excellent job each day. My only critique would be the decor of the room-it had some strange design on the walls that takes away from the room and i have to say i was disappointed on my first impression. However, the comfortable bed, cleanliness and professionalism of the hotel staff more than compensated for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Greetings. Thank you so much for sharing your review. I am glad you enjoyed your 4 day stay with us, the recognition of our team members' efforts is greatly appreciated. I have shared your kind comments with them. We are actually in the planning process of a renovation, I hope we have some of it completed by the time you return to our hotel. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Property: Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service. Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera. Discover 176 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and enjoy a local beverage at our ocean view pool bar, Mar Vista, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy dinner at Marbella Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center. With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing