We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a really nice hotel that looks - and feels - like a Spanish hacienda. Very different from any other hotel I have stayed in. The staff were wonderful - they were so eager to answer any question or fill any request and they did it so cheerfully. Very impressed. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had anything you could think of to eat for breakfast. The room was spacious and the view of the ocean was spectacular. Couldn't have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view - it really is a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello. Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with the members of our teams to include our Executive Chef, thank you for your recognition, it really means a lot to us all. Please come back and see us again soon, we'll be happy to be of service to you. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    332
    307
    214
    154
See reviews for
441
496
39
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights for a work conference. I found the hotel staff to be incredibly professional and more than happy to help with any requests. The rooms were very clean and house keeping did an excellent job each day. My only critique would be the decor of the room-it had some strange design on the walls that takes away from the room and i have to say i was disappointed on my first impression. However, the comfortable bed, cleanliness and professionalism of the hotel staff more than compensated for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Greetings. Thank you so much for sharing your review. I am glad you enjoyed your 4 day stay with us, the recognition of our team members' efforts is greatly appreciated. I have shared your kind comments with them. We are actually in the planning process of a renovation, I hope we have some of it completed by the time you return to our hotel. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

we saw a lot of negative reviews about this hotel, which made us a little apprehensive. But let me tell you, it's was a really nice stay.
We did park on the street to avoid the crazy parking charge.
Checkin was easy. The young lady working the desk was nothing but pleasant.
The room was really nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolbreezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello. Thank you very much for your candid review, it really means a lot to us here at the hotel that the efforts of the teams are recognized. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your recognition. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Hyatt Santa Barbara and loved it. Hotel was so pretty and location was awesome! Nice and clean and comfortable - service great. Loved the breakfast buffet; did not eat dinner there. Beds were SO comfortable and our room was so big. Just loved everything about it - especially the Spanish design of the hotel. Pool area was so pretty. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: ocean view is a definite plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello. Thank you very much for spending 3 nights with us during your fist visit to California! I sincerely appreciate you posting your review. I have shared your comments with the managers and team members in the areas mentioned, thank you very much for the positive recognition! I hope to welcome you back when your travels bring you back. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner tonight, dreadful service, waited 90 mins to get our meal. We hadn't booked but when we arrived we were told it would be a 10 minute wait for a table. We waited 30 mins and then asked what the delay was, we then got a table! It took a further 15 minutes to place an order. When it arrived it was wrong, served warm...just! We've been in the USA a week and its the worst service and food we've been given. AVOID!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coffer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings. Thank you very much for your review! Your comments are valuable and very important to us, thank you for taking time to share. I have reviewed your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage so that he can look into the circumstances and provide a prompt resolution to the inconveniences you experienced. Please accept my most sincere apologies for that. I truly hope you give our Bistro an opportunity next time you visit us as the valued guest that you are. Thank you again for your participation and I look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here on my way to the Rose Bowl, so I was at the hotel for New Year's Eve. It pretty much served the purpose of a place to lay my head before getting up at the crack of dawn to head to Pasadena. The check-in process was a little clunky. It seemed as though a lot of trainees were working on NYE. My room was very close to the elevator, which I usually try to avoid. It was pretty noisy. The room itself was fine. We decided to make dinner easy on ourselves and went to the restaurant in the hotel. The decor is not much to look at, so I was dubious when we were being seated. I was very pleasantly surprised with the food. And our server was great. He appeared to be a little overworked (perhaps some other servers called off last minute), but he was as attentive as he could be. The food was fantastic. We brought our own wine, so I can't comment on the wine list. The location was good. The beach is right aross the street. The rates were fair considering the competition in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeSids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Greetings. Thank you so very much for sharing your review! I have shared your kind comments with our Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage, I will also be sharing them with the team members as I visit the kitchen and bistro this week, thank you very much for recognizing their efforts. I truly hope you enjoyed the game on New Year's Day! The team member on training during your stay is all up to speed already, thank you for your patience with that during your check in process. Thank you for taking time to share your review, from all of us at the Hyatt Santa Barbara, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as a valued guest! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed two nights with my family at this hotel. I was expecting much more from a Hyatt. The only good thing was the location, in front of the beach and at walking distance from downtown (1 mile).
The rooms are old and smaller than a shoe box, specially if you need a crib. The mattress was noisy as hell, as well as the bathroom door, so we kept permanently waking up our baby during the night time. We asked for a room change and the new room had the same problems...
Also, the hotel is plenty of possible self parking spaces BUT they only offered a daily 26 $ valet (or just park outside their premises.... absurd).
I will definetely look up for better options in Santa Barbara next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HMP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGM995, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello. Thank you very much for your review. I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I have shared your valuable feedback with the leaders in the areas mentioned within our management team. They will in turn look into the areas that need attention and provide proper resolution, thank you for your feedback. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our parking option, we needed to take our operation in that direction as a result of previous challenges. Our price is well in line with our local competitors as this is very important to us as well. I sincerely hope you understand our position with this very important matter. Thank you for sharing your review and I truly hope you give us a try next time your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
970 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Property: Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service. Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera. Discover 176 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and enjoy a local beverage at our ocean view pool bar, Mar Vista, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy dinner at Marbella Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center. With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing