We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location, great staff, excellent food, so glad that we decided to stay here again instead of Harbor View. The beach across the street is nicer and the location isn't as noisy as the corner of State and Cabrillo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

I wrote a review of this hotel last year, and noticed recently that it disappeared from tripadvisor reviews of the hotel, so I thought I'll try to reporduce it.

This hotel has the best location of any hotel in Santa Barbara, right across from a very nice beach and walking distance to downtown, the pier and many other attractions. We had an ocean view room on the first floor with a private large patio which was fantastic. The reception personnel were nice and check in/out were nice and fast. But the positives end here.
The bed was very uncomforable (probably a very old matress). The cleaning staff didn't do a good job.. We stayed for 4 days and I don't think our room was vacuumed at all. The leather chair was not wiped off (there were dirty finger marks that they could have easily wiped off, but they didn't). The only cleaning that was done is making the bed and cleaning the bathroom. They didn't even replace the supplies of paper cups and tissue paper. I had to ask for paper cups in the evening when I wanted to make some tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socalgal910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We traveled from San Francisco to LA. We were on the road for a few days and were tired, so we needed to relax and rest. Easy checked in and the staff was very friendly and nice. To our surprise we had a balcony that overlooked the ocean..BEAUTIFUL. The pool was nice plenty of towels, quiet. At night there was a fire pit and a hot tub. You could just hang out by the fire pit and bring your own bottle of wine. The hotel restruant was opened late and you could get a snack or just a cup of tea. Again staff was very accomodating. We decided to stay an extra day it was just a very nice hotel. It was convenient to the beach and a short ride to State Street where they have many shops. We had a fabulos two days. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franks F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Check in was very quick and they had our rooms ready by 2. The rooms are big and clean but for a Hyatt I expected something more. Don't get me wrong, I have no complaints but I expected to be wowed at this hotel with both service and amenities but it just wasn't there. We didn't get a sea view room unfortunately but it is only steps away. In all, I would stay here again if I got a good rate and try to get a seaview room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved this hotel - I was surprised at some of the other reviews, stayed here for two nights - lovely, friendly, great location, FABULOUS POOL with poolside service. Me and my teenage daughter had a super time, staff couldn't be friendlier, our room was convenient to elevator (which I requested) super clean and perfectly appointed, our room had a little fridge for wine and cheese we picked up for a picnic) - we didn't have any "view" to speak of but who cares?! We were out and about the whole time. Ordered in room service late one night and they promptly delivered a delicious cheeseburger and fries!

We were in the main building - have no idea what the other buildings were like. Two minute easy drive down the road to Trader Joe's, a bagel shop and Rite Aide - oh and the 101 freeway right across from those shops, very convenient.

We spent a lot of time shopping and eating on State Street, easy drive there too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 00MVCA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We booked a deluxe king using Hyatt points and were upgraded to a pool/partial ocean view.

Room: We were given in a room in the original portion of the hotel. Our room was directly over the noisy hot tub area and definitely not what I would consider a romantic room. It had a musty smell and it needed fresh air; however, it was so noisy because of it's location, that we only left the window open when we weren't in the room. The room itself was clean, although a used towel was left hanging on the back of the bathroom door that obviously housekeeping didn't remove. There was some mold in the shower but considering how musty the room was, I wasn't surprised.
Our bed was too soft, creaky, and seemed like an old mattress. The walls in the older section of the hotel seemed thin as we could clearly hear the conversations in the next room.

Hotel: the carpets in the hallway were stained and needed vacuumed. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful when needed. Valet staff was excellent.

Pool: pool area is very nice, clean, and has great poolside service. The lounges were comfortable, towels were well stocked, and fun music was played.

The location is fabulous and is further from all the noise/traffic of the wharf area. We loved walking to the beach and to State Street.

Overall, this is definitely not a typical Hyatt: the rooms needed some updating and the special touches were missing. Our anniversary was not acknowledged at all. We expected at least a card thanking us for choosing this hotel to celebrate and best wishes. We didn't let it spoil our time, we were just disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, do not stay overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nan831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is one of the very few chain hotels (along with Doubletree & Motel 6) located in this area of Cabrillo Blvd across the street from the beach. The hotel has a long and interesting history dating back to the 1930’s (including press headquarters for the Reagan “Western White House.” Much of it was remodeled when it became a Hyatt several years ago, so the carpet and many of the furnishings are newer and quite attractive. There are at least 4 buildings and each has many different room configurations so it is hard to categorize or generalize on room suggestions.

We requested a 3rd floor ocean view and were given Room 385 in the Santa Maria building at the far end of the hotel away from the restaurant and reception area. We soon learned that our “ocean view” was only a partial angle over a side street (not a direct view) so suggest you more specifically request “completely overlooking full view of ocean and Cabrillo Blvd.” Also our room had no balcony (while many others did) so that would be a nice feature if you can get it. I waited to discuss a possible room change with the front desk on several occasions as we are Hyatt Platinum but the 2 clerks were busy each time so I gave up after a 5 minute wait. (July weekends are a very busy season.)

Our room had a mini refrigerator and a small coffeemaker using the one-cup “tray” coffee filters (and cardboard cups). Two complimentary bottles of Aqua Fina water were replenished daily as well as a morning newspaper. Ditto for free internet access and a generous 2 pm checkout on our last day. The self-park fee is posted as $15 a day (and $22 for valet) but there is free parking directly alongside the hotel on the side streets (except for 2 hours a week for street cleaning).

Housekeeping did a good job of cleaning each day, although the window-type air conditioning unit has a hard time removing some of the dampness, possibly the cause of the musty odor in some of the rooms. There are several sets of stairs and an elevator in most if not all of the buildings. The towels seemed new and fluffy and the toiletries typical (i.e. pleasing) for the Hyatt but we found the beds and pillows to be below Hyatt expectations. Ihome clock radio had a docking station for Ipod/Iphone music and the Sharp flat screen TV had non-HD reception with about 65 channels and a rather well-used remote (some buttons worked better than others).
Unfortunately the pool had only 25 reclining chairs for 171 guest rooms so it got competitive (and frustrating) when people laid their towels on a chair for the entire day. A significant area of the pool is set up for eating tables which went unused during most of our 3 day stay, a configuration hopefully management will review.

The airport shuttle from LAX stops at the hotel and the local waterfront bus trolley also stops nearby. The latter is 50 cents and takes you to the pier. In addition, the zoo is only a few blocks away from the property. There is an Amtrak train that runs along the tracks three blocks away, so train horns do sound occasionally fairly close by.

Overall, I would stay here again if I wanted the convenience of beach access and did not expect top-of-the-line Hyatt service and furnishings.

Room Tip: If you want ocean room, be specific asking for a room "facing Cabrillo Blvd top floor with full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abbot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,081 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,040 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $168 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service. Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera. Discover 176 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and enjoy a local beverage at our ocean view pool bar, Mar Vista, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy dinner at Marbella Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center. With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing