We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$371
$346
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)
$759
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$325
$304
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$413
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$270
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$446
$403
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$995
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
14
26
39
28
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
26
39
28
62
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 169 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Any of the good reviews on this site were most obviously written by the staff. This place is actually worse than anything I have ever seen. We have sewage in the bath tub, no soap of any kind and I may be in what is actually a closet. We also had a nasty visible spooge stain on the comforter and I can see thru the door, not the side, the middle!!! I wish i could post photos, I would recommend staying at the harbor inn right next door. Spend the extra money! Don't waste your money on this place. I want to find out where they Learned to use photo shop! They are really good at it!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This is a no-frills hotel. Shower door wouldn't close right, no place to hang towels in the bathroom or place to put your toiletries while showering. INo fridge or microwaves. If you're on the bottom floor you'll hear your neighbors walking in the room upstairs. Breakfast is free but the coffee isn't very good & they won't print your boarding pass for you. Upstairs patio has lounge chairs & nice view of ocean/pier. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyonssmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We were first surprised with the quirky way the room was put together. The bathroom had no place to hang towels so they were in a rack in the room next to the TV. Once the towels were used there wasn't really any place in the bathroom to hang them except for the top of the shower, which had a door that would not close properly most of the time making it very hard to maneuver such a small space. There were almost no amenities except for shampoo and soap. Not even a soap dish. There was no clock, no paper or anything to write on, not even a do not disturb sign.There was a phone but it did not work. The bed was very close to the wall on the right side and there were two pipes coming out of that wall that were capped. obviously from old utilities making it kind of scary to get out of bed on that side. The front door had a quaint stained glass window but no curtain so that bright light from the exterior streamed through it all night long.We had to jimmy a towel over it to get some sleep.Also, there is not enough parking like they advertise so we had to park on a busy street in front of the homeless Vet shelter next door where they sleep 3 deep on the sidewalk out front.
We were given this room because we travel with our dog and it was in the corner of a L shaped building. This hotel has a lovely upstairs observation deck that has seating for probably 30 people in the front of the building that is private and away from most of the rooms. The view of the ocean and all of the action on Cabrillo Blvd is the best thing about the hotel. There was also a picnic table directly in front of our room which was basically in the parking lot. Every morning and evening a group of elderly women traveling together would congregate in "this" area and talk rather loudly, disturbing my dog. I do not understand being put in a room that was quiet for the dog if people could hang out right in front of it.Speaking of the dog we requested that the maid would do our room first while we took the dog on an adventure. This way as to not disturb the maid or the dog.It just makes sense.It was not only not done as promised but we were somehow the last room to be made up! Just rude!
My main issue is with noise. We noticed a rather loud rattling in our wall in the afternoon and mentioned it to the clerk. He said he would check into it.We left to walk the dog and go for dinner. We managed to finally fall asleep after the older women had enough of their wine and went back upstairs to their rooms. The rattling returned with a vengeance this time it would happen about every 10 minutes and last for about 20 seconds. At about 12:30 AM we realized that it was not going to stop and rather than pack up and drive home in the middle of the night I decided to go to the office to see if there was an emergency number to call. There was, but I was almost accosted by a drunk homeless man while I was writing down the number. We did get the emergency person right away.My husband pleaded with him to move us to a new room but he assured us that there was no room at the Ala Mar or it's sister property Villa Rosa next door.. He did show up and heard the sounds himself. He then traced the noise to a pipe which ran the length of the hotel and tied into out room somehow. This pipe apparently had not been secured properly and every time the ice machine went through it's cycle it would rattle furiously. He turned off the machine and that noise finally stopped. So that was good.
The next thing I know about 2 AM we are awoken by a loud drunken bunch of young people in our parking lot when one of them announced"Dude I can't believe I got a room!"The next 30 minutes or so were taken up by these kids running up and down the alleyways yelling and screaming at each other and generally goofing off.
The party that ensued from that room was insanely loud . That had brought their own sound system and were blasting gangster rap all of the while whooping and hollering as loud as they could scream.This noise was coming from a balcony and echoed all over the hotel. It was unnerving! My husband had to call the police to calm them down. Not too long after this the sun came up and the 2 people and 4 children upstairs from us in a single room were clomping all over the floor like elephants. We left feeling cheated and neglected. Is this any way to run a business?

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newstoneage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We arrived at the motel just before the front desk was going to close (our fault) We were greeted nicely and given our room key (109) upon opening our door we were greeted with the lovely smell of urine.. My husband and I looked at our room and thought "you have got to be kidding me". We paid $128.00 for a room that was disgustingly old , run down and scary dirty!! We didnt even want to walk on the horrible carpeting in our room! We used a towel to walk around. We were so tired and there was nothing we could do at that point but make the best of it. We used wipes to wipe down anything we had to touch! The blinds were all broken on the windows.. holed in the walls and everything in the bathroom was old and rusty. This place shows the nice rooms on the pictures. So disappointed as this was our 25th wedding anniversary. We were awakened by toilets flushing and loud noises from the rooms above us. The only thing going for this place is the location and could be quite nice if they spent alot of money fixing it up. We will never stay here again and we didnt even site see after that nite because we were so grossed out and wanted to get home to shower! Room 109 is not the rooms they show on here.. BEWARE

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paminjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

When we arrived, we were greeted courteously by staff, and stayed in the 'penthouse' room (the only room on the 3rd floor). The motel location was great because it was close to the beach and the pier. The in-room jacuzzi, dual-showerhead, flat-screen tv, and the oceanview were positive aspects of the room.
However, for a room of this high price level, the room lacked the basic motel amenities that should be expected. There was no closet, rack, or drawers, to store or hang your clothes. No table or desk were available, for eating or writing. All of the window locks were either missing or broken. (It IS possible, to get into 3 of the 6 windows). The front door and bathroom door would stick, making it hard to open and close. The outside personal patio was old/rotted, and not cleaned. Because there were no window screens, and numeous pigeons, you could not enjoy the breeze. You could only crack the window, to prevent them from entering your room. A coffee-maker and microwave would have been nice conveniences. The online room photos do not accurately reflect this room. Also, there was very limited parking. All in all, the room badly needs repair, updating, and basic conviences added. I was extremely disappointed with all of these problems, as this was the main surprise for my wife's special birthday occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BakersfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews