We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. But it's ashame it could be charming.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala Mar Motel
Ranked #49 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location. But it's ashame it could be charming.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived to Santa Barbara later in the evening and pulled into the Ala Mar with out reservation. Staff was helpful and nice. We were given a small room at the back of the building in an alley. It was late so it was fine. It's ashame, because the propietor has though about comforts for thier guests and have tried to decorate in a comfortable shabby chic. But the place was just dirty! The walls, the bed posts and side tables had black smudge marks all over them as if a maintenance man or someone touched everything and left oil/dirt prints everywhere. The bathroom was unfinished too. It's too bad because one can see they have added small gestures of amenties to make a guest comfortable. It is just dirty. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DobyCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    31
    26
    54
See reviews for
28
68
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I guess it used to be way back when. Now, it’s falling apart & no one cares & they make a conscious effort to lure you in with great pictures…don’t believe it. We got their “best room” facing the ocean with a cute little balcony. I won’t way anymore, just look at the pictures.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay overnight and passed by this hotel so decided to give it a try, at $170 for an "ocean-view large room with jacuzzi". The room was on the upper level, on the far side from the beach. Yes, it had ocean view. But I saw a used Q-tip on the bottom of the cupboard and the floor felt sticky when walking barefooted. The "jacuzzi" was an old bath tub with some jet nozzles. The entire place was screaming for a throrough clean-up.
Breakfast was included but was pathetic: Coffee and rolls on a tiny board in the small reception. There are great cafés in Santa Barbara, so we went there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were driving from Santa Monica to Yosemite via the pacific highway.
Decided to stop off in a few places along the way.

The Ala Mar Motel was in a perfect location right on the sea front.
The rooms were a little shabby but for a one night stop of it was a perfect location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A bit pricy at $249 a night for this rather average motel, but it's right on the ocean with an uninterrupted view so that makes up for a lot. The office is strictly old school... meaning they don't use computers... all paper. So naturally they lost our reservation, which we made in person the day before. Misplaced the card. So the elderly gentlemen behind the counter asks me, "what was the name of the person who took your reservation?" I replied, "I don't know. He wasn't wearing a name tag. How many employees work behind the counter?" It was just the two of them. Ok... so... it was the other guy. Cool dude, with long black hair and a USC cap. That's him... but we misplaced your reservation. You have a room, but we just don't know which one. "Come back in a few hours when he comes into work." When I came back, the office was locked and dark, at 3:00 pm. But, the room was clean and acceptable... and did I say there's the ocean across the street, with a 2nd floor large balcony?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We turned up with no reservation and picked it because of the location which is ace. Price was Ok.
Its a bit rough around the edges but we liked it. It was nice to have a room with a ceiling fan and not A/C.
The room was a bit Spanish in decoration and was small but fine.
The dude behind the counter is cool in a Californian kind of way.
Walking distance to SB centre and the pier is pretty much across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The property was a little bit different than we expected we liked the way it looked, we showed up in Santa Barbara without reservations and the price was right. You could tell right away the staff take pride in the upkeep. The room was acceptable with some cute decorations. No AC and a little warm when we arrived but after a few minutes with the windows open and ceiling fan on it was comfortable. I read some of the reviews and they must have stayed at a different place or their expectation level is off the mark. Armando the clerk was great, gave us a good rate and was most helpful. Yes it is true the windows don't lock but I am not paranoid and I don't think the German tourists were interested in breaking in to our room. The property does not have bedbugs and the staff were very diligent in their housekeeping. No there is no pool but the beach is right there! Breakfast is a joke but Sambo's is down the block and serves a great breakfast If you need anything Armando is your man

Room Tip: Room 117 is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doubletapx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Inn
Villa Rosa Inn
#13 of 20 in Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Mar Motel

Property: Ala Mar Motel
Address: 102 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3505
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ala Mar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location next to the beach and State St. We're a small boutique motel. Some rooms have private a jacuzzi. Most rooms have the beach view. We also have rooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Ala Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Ala Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing