We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair to middleing....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Mar Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ala Mar Motel
Ranked #50 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fair to middleing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We turned up with no reservation and picked it because of the location which is ace. Price was Ok.
Its a bit rough around the edges but we liked it. It was nice to have a room with a ceiling fan and not A/C.
The room was a bit Spanish in decoration and was small but fine.
The dude behind the counter is cool in a Californian kind of way.
Walking distance to SB centre and the pier is pretty much across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    31
    26
    54
See reviews for
28
68
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The property was a little bit different than we expected we liked the way it looked, we showed up in Santa Barbara without reservations and the price was right. You could tell right away the staff take pride in the upkeep. The room was acceptable with some cute decorations. No AC and a little warm when we arrived but after a few minutes with the windows open and ceiling fan on it was comfortable. I read some of the reviews and they must have stayed at a different place or their expectation level is off the mark. Armando the clerk was great, gave us a good rate and was most helpful. Yes it is true the windows don't lock but I am not paranoid and I don't think the German tourists were interested in breaking in to our room. The property does not have bedbugs and the staff were very diligent in their housekeeping. No there is no pool but the beach is right there! Breakfast is a joke but Sambo's is down the block and serves a great breakfast If you need anything Armando is your man

Room Tip: Room 117 is a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doubletapx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is right on the beach so can't fault location but the price was $160+ which I thought was a bit steep, and the room itself was not that good. No air-conditioning which I thought was strange for California, only a fairly ineffective ceiling fan. Beds were ok, but without a/c the room became very stuffy at night. Wifi worked ok. I am sure there are better and cheaper options like Motel6 but not quite so well situated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank werdneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Walked in from the street and asked for a room (strong smell of ganja from the Office?). Looked nice from The outside, but The room was in bad need of maintanence. No AC, the bathroom-door wouldnt close, The bathroom-window wouldn't open (!). The paint is coming of The walls, the shelves in the bathroom are rusty etc. Nice seawiev, and if the owner would spend of his ripoffmoney to fix this place up, it would be really nice. CHECK ROOM BEFORE YOU CHECK IN!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived late in Santa Barbara and the Ala Mar was the first place that we came too. When booking in the office wanted cash payment. Room was a bit quirky but with a very large bed. The bathroom was actually in the bedroom and there was a separate toilet which was so small that your knees banged on the toilet door. The door to the room off the balcony would not close easily and you really had to bang it shut and it could not be locked from the inside. People were sitting on the balcony right by our room and we expected that we were going to be kept up half the night but, in fact, it was very quiet and we got a good night's sleep. I suggest that you check the room out before taking it. Breakfast was very basic but it was pleasant to sit on the terrace and look over the beach. I am glad that we only stayed one night. It was very expensive for what you got. We have stayed in far far better for the money. It was fine for a one nighter but don't book your annual vacation there!

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angleseypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The room looked fine but when sleeping, woke up at 1am itching like hell having bites all over my body. I've been staying at a number of hotels till this one around the US and will definately not stay here again. I should have read the trip advisor reports before checking in as i see a number of comalints about this place. The health inspectores should do something about this reading the reports. Stuff like this makes your trip to Santa Barbara not worth it....

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A spur of the moment booking upon arrival in Santa Barbara. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the location perfect (on the sea front) and the room a good size.
Contrary to other reports, no sign of bed bugs and the room was pretty clean. Comfy bed and a lovely big flat screen tv.
Breakfast was basic and the terrace set aside for eating/sunbathing could do with a spruce up and there was litter lying around.
Overall not a bad place- great staff too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Inn
Villa Rosa Inn
#13 of 20 in Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Mar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Mar Motel

Property: Ala Mar Motel
Address: 102 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ala Mar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location next to the beach and State St. We're a small boutique motel. Some rooms have private a jacuzzi. Most rooms have the beach view. We also have rooms with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ala Mar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Ala Mar Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing