We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
14
26
40
28
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
26
40
28
65
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 173 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is right on the beach so can't fault location but the price was $160+ which I thought was a bit steep, and the room itself was not that good. No air-conditioning which I thought was strange for California, only a fairly ineffective ceiling fan. Beds were ok, but without a/c the room became very stuffy at night. Wifi worked ok. I am sure there are better and cheaper options like Motel6 but not quite so well situated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank werdneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Walked in from the street and asked for a room (strong smell of ganja from the Office?). Looked nice from The outside, but The room was in bad need of maintanence. No AC, the bathroom-door wouldnt close, The bathroom-window wouldn't open (!). The paint is coming of The walls, the shelves in the bathroom are rusty etc. Nice seawiev, and if the owner would spend of his ripoffmoney to fix this place up, it would be really nice. CHECK ROOM BEFORE YOU CHECK IN!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived late in Santa Barbara and the Ala Mar was the first place that we came too. When booking in the office wanted cash payment. Room was a bit quirky but with a very large bed. The bathroom was actually in the bedroom and there was a separate toilet which was so small that your knees banged on the toilet door. The door to the room off the balcony would not close easily and you really had to bang it shut and it could not be locked from the inside. People were sitting on the balcony right by our room and we expected that we were going to be kept up half the night but, in fact, it was very quiet and we got a good night's sleep. I suggest that you check the room out before taking it. Breakfast was very basic but it was pleasant to sit on the terrace and look over the beach. I am glad that we only stayed one night. It was very expensive for what you got. We have stayed in far far better for the money. It was fine for a one nighter but don't book your annual vacation there!

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook car park
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angleseypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The room looked fine but when sleeping, woke up at 1am itching like hell having bites all over my body. I've been staying at a number of hotels till this one around the US and will definately not stay here again. I should have read the trip advisor reports before checking in as i see a number of comalints about this place. The health inspectores should do something about this reading the reports. Stuff like this makes your trip to Santa Barbara not worth it....

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A spur of the moment booking upon arrival in Santa Barbara. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the location perfect (on the sea front) and the room a good size.
Contrary to other reports, no sign of bed bugs and the room was pretty clean. Comfy bed and a lovely big flat screen tv.
Breakfast was basic and the terrace set aside for eating/sunbathing could do with a spruce up and there was litter lying around.
Overall not a bad place- great staff too.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews