We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach House Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We felt very lucky to have found this small inn. Cleanliness is the first word that pops into my mind when I think of this motel/inn. Friendliness, convience of location, large rooms, and a wonderful grassy center courtyard where you could sit and enjoy a cup of coffee (very good coffee I would add) in the morning. We had our dog with us and we were welcomed by both the manager and other guests. We did feel like we were in a small family run inn. People sat in the courtyard. Eating meals that they had prepared in their kitchens, reading, working on their laptops, or just talking. In most hotels people stayed holded up in their rooms watching TV's (what else are you to do in a standard room other than sleep) But, with the grassy courtyard you could just relax and enjoy the conversation of other guests if you chose. This reminded me of a ski lodge that I stayed in in Vermont many years ago. No TVs in the rooms. People actually came out of their rooms and sat in front of the fireplace and talked. So refreshing. I really loved this place. Finally a place where I could bring my dog and it wasn't a sterile chain motel. Again, I really liked this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFMCKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    45
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
91
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bay, Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We travelled to SB with our 2 children aged 2y6m and 4y6m. Therefore we were keen to find somewhere that was family friendly, clean and had separate bedrooms for us and the kids. We also wanted to be located in a top location. We never dreamed we would find what we wanted for a reasonable price. Room 12 at The Beach House Inn was all of this - although it was way more than a room. We got a huge kitchen and dining area, a huge living area with 2 Queen sleeper sofas and a large flate screen TV, a huge King size bedroom for us (with another flat screen TV) and a lovely modern bathroom. Then there was a lovely patio with tables and chairs and a good sized walk-in-wardrobe area. The location was superb - 5 mins walk away was a wading pool (free for the kids!) and an Olympic size pool. Then theres the beach and the wharf within very easy reach as well. The management went out of their way to help us with everything we needed. We cant say enough about tis place - for the affordable price, the size of the accommodation and the location, you cant do better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho palos verdes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband and I stay in this lovely hotel almost every other weekend. The rooms are beautiful, very clean, the service is superior and the staff is always friendly and very helpful. My husband and I can afford to stay in more expensive hotels but we wouldn't even consider it!! I have also never seen any bugs let alone bed bugs! Very highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quenemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

My husband and I have been staying at the Beach house Inn for 8 winters (1/15-4/15 each year). It is our home away from home for several reasons. The manager is not only professional, attentive and accommodating, but she (and her husband) are friendly and treat us more like acquaintances than hotel guests. Our accommodation is newly redecorated, comfortable, spacious and filled with sunlight. We have a private enclosed patio in which our dog enjoys her own personal space. A courtyard is in the center of the complex and is complete with palm trees, beautiful flowers, and warbling birds. It's also a nice place to visit with other guests, many of whom are interesting foreign visitors. The daily maid service is impeccable. The location is ideal: it's a short walk to the harbor and West Beach, it's convenient to State Street shopping and downtown restaurants, and it's only a 10-minute walk along Cabrillo Boulevard to Stearns Wharf. We always look forward to our Santa Barbara winters mainly because of the ambiance of the Beach House Inn and the courteous professionalism of its staff.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowbirdIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

I was in Santa Barbara for pleasure and I stayed at The Beach House Inn, it was in a perfect location. I was close to State Street for all my shopping and wonderful restaurants. I was 2 blocks from the beach. I didn't even need to use my car all weekend. The service was subperb and rooms were very clean and it's affordable you will feel like your at home.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiobrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed here during a rainy weekend in November. Our room was advertised as a "family suite". The king bed took up most of the small main room, and down the short hall was a spartan second bedroom with two twin beds, no heat or TV and a dresser that looked like it was picked up at the local thrift store. All room heat was provided by the gas fireplace, so prepare for Burger King nightmares if you need the heat on while you sleep. There was a refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker but no coffee! Coffee was provided in a press pot put outside the office window whenever the innkeeper happened to wake up in the morning. We brought our dog along, and I would say this establishment is dog tolerant rather than dog friendly. Read the list of "rules" before you book, and be aware of the hefty pet fee. While waiting for the coffee to appear each morning, I walked our dog around the neighborhood and spotted many other small motels with bountiful offerings of breads, muffins, tea, coffee etc. for their guests. Many of these also appeared to accept dogs. We paid over $250 per night during a time most hotels were offering rooms at discounts. Some of the units at this place appear to house long term residents, so perhaps the hotel business is not the main effort. Much better options are available for the price we paid.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBBHI, Manager at Beach House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
We love to communicate with our guests, don't hesitate and talk to us during your stay.

Fireplaces easily operated with thermostat.

In room coffee is available upon request.
Morning coffee, Monday through Friday served by 6:00am; Friday, Saturday and Holidays served between 7 and 7:30 am
.
Our pet fee is $10.00 per pet per night.
Our courtyard is enjoyed by humans and pets alike, conversations flow easy, but to keep this peaceful atmosphere , there is a need for pet rules.
As in every hotel business, prices change, depending on season and holidays.

We are an inn, not a regular rental. It might feel that way, since everybody seems to know each other. Our guests, many Repeats, feel at home at the Beach House Inn.
Come stay with us and find out the vintage dressers interesting history and feel at home in our newly redecorated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

We were on holiday in California, traveling around for more than 3 weeks and stayed in 'the Beach House Inn' for 3 nights in october 2008!
We loved the rooms, the space, there was even a little kitchen for us, everything so clean, so beautiful decorated.
We loved the pink front doors en the garden too!!! Lovely to sit in, to take a drink and watch the many birds.
It was the best place we have stayed in all those weeks and not only because the price was good...the friendly managers and the place itself...absolutely great!
Santa Barbara itself is a great place to be as well! Great restaurants and the manager can tell you were to go!
Kind regards, Theo & Ellen from Holland

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank ellepel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn

Property: Beach House Inn
Address: 320 W Yanonali St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3832
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Beach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing