We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, close to beach and so very dog friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach House Inn & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place, close to beach and so very dog friendly.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed 3 nights with my mother and our 2 dogs.A border collie and a 102 lb pit bull.First of all there was no extra pet fee and no discrimination towards my pit bull.We were given a list of nearby beaches and places to eat that are pet friendly.The Brew House was AMAZING! A separate menu for the dogs and water brought to them ,not to mention their food was something I will definetly be returning for..Such a friendly atmosphere! The rooms are all great with small kitchens,big TV's, and a shower with a handheld showerhead to rinse off your pooch.I think if you are traveling with pets but still want a nice room this is the best value.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anemicblnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    46
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
94
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really can't believe the high ratings given to this place. The people reviewing must have never stayed in a true 4-5 star hotel such as a Four Seasons or Mauna Kea if they are rating it this high. I'm not saying it is a bad property, just nowhere near as good as the reviews and really overpriced.

We stayed here two nights in July and it was just OK. Our room appeared clean but the carpet was sagging and old and the room had a pervasive foul odor throughout the unit (maybe because its a dog-friendly property?) Beds are hard and uncomfortable. One of the pullout sofa beds was missing springs and saggy. They are lacking some basic amenities that even a Best Western would have (no a/c, pool, jacuzzi, etc) The best things about it are the generously-sized rooms and the location is walking distance (2 blocks) to the beach.

It was not someplace we wanted to linger or return to. Would rather be at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newportfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are travelling with a family, I would recommend the Beach House Inn highly. The location is perfect for the beach, harbour, restaurants and more or less everything. We stayed in one of the upstairs suites, as it worked out a lot cheaper than having 2 rooms elsewhere. It is such a friendly and relaxing place to stay. There is a small central garden area, which you can sit out in, right next to all the rooms, in case children are inside. The hosts, Pam and Tony, could not have been more friendly or helpful, with their local knowledge. They were so accommodating when we needed transportation to other venues. The suite was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. There is a well stocked supermarket just round the corner, so we choose to buy food in and prepare it ourselves rather than eat out all the time, (which can work out quite expensive with a family of four). Hot coffee is provided each morning which is admirable. If we came back to Santa Barbara, we would stay here.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you have a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I don't really know where to start because I all I want to do is gush all over this place and on the other hand I don't want anybody else to know about it! Let me start by saying that my friend and I stayed for nine nights. So my review comes from lots of time at this precious little place. I say little because there are only 12 rooms. On the other hand the rooms are anything but little! We stayed in a King Suite. Never ever felt cramped or stir crazy. Very relaxing space with the best energy ever! Very spacious bathroom and dressing area with lots and lots of storage. No living out of a suitcase here. The living space was equally spacious with a desk, two chairs with foot stools and great king bed. Not to mention the flat screen TV, fireplace and fabulous windows. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need. If it isn't there they will get it for you! Great gas stove, full size refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Nothing but quality all the way down to the paper towels! All you need to bring is the food! Every room opens up to this adorable courtyard with the most peaceful and relaxing feeling. Plenty of comfy seating and green grass. The best place to have your breakfast in the morning and drink your wine every evening. Speaking of breakfast, they serve fresh hot coffee every morning. Now let's talk cleanliness. Everyday our bed was made, we got fresh towels and our room was vacuumed and mopped. Truly one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. Ever. The staff is nothing but genuinely kind, helpful and enthusiastic. Something this world could use a little more of. In closing, nine days was not enough. Planning on staying a minimum of two weeks next time! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Quaint and welcoming, the Beach House Inn was the perfect spot for our visit to Santa Barbara. The rooms are large, have great amenities and very clean. Its quiet and very close to the beach - you can walk to just about everything. They are very accommodating to those traveling with dogs - which is very appreciated by those of us who prefer to vacation with our pups. The owners / staff were very friendly and helpful - especially in directing us to dog friendly places to eat - hike - etc. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANHATTAN BEACH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This dog-friendly inn was comfortable for the two of us plus our dog. We stayed in a king studio which has a spacious room, a kitchenette in a separate room and a dressing area. The inn was nicely renovated. One thing that impressed us was that there were plenty of hooks on the bathroom door and by the front door! We wish all hotels followed this model. Also, the chairs were comfortable both inside and outside as well as the bed. Friendly help at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superwoman902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Happened upon the Beach House Inn after finding most everything else in town was booked. We got the last room, and oh, it was lovely from start to finish. The people at the desk are beyond nice, very helpful, and pleasant on the phone too. The room was so great - big, comfortable king sized bed, cute little kitchen, nice bath. They loan out DVD's, have bikes that can be used, and just a few tiny details that made it extra special. There are little seating areas in the parking lots that area inviting and welcoming with solar candles lit at night, a morning newspaper on the tables in the morning. But, the most wonderful surprise - a welcome basket full of little treats, compliments of the Beach House Inn. The banana bread loaf was sooooooo delicious. My husband and I both thought that it was the little extra touches that made this little property so wonderful. To not have to pay for DVD's, bikes, and food in the room was worth the little bit higher price. I'd definitely stay here again, and the staff deserves kudo's for creating such a nice atmosphere. By the way, the location is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
766 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Inn & Apartments

Property: Beach House Inn & Apartments
Address: 320 W Yanonali St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach House Inn & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beach House Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing