We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty gardens not so pretty cost”
Review of Oasis Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oasis Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Sydney
Level Contributor
295 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Pretty gardens not so pretty cost”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Youch..... This is the most expensive two nights in the whole of our vacation of 32 nights. At $240 nightly I would have expected a lot more than offered at the Oasis. Not sure if this is a pet friendly hotel but my partner spent the two days dosed up on zirtec due to allergies and given the cost one would have expected the breakfast to have been a little more extensive. The location was excellent and without realising we had landed in Santa Barbara in the middle of the Old Spanish Festival which was great to see. The best time was our trip to Los Olivos and Solvang - more on these locations in my other posts.

On the good side, the gardens at this hotel are immaculate and the pool pristine although a little too cool to enjoy. However, I think I would consider other options in future visits to Santa Barbara, which is a location we will return to again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    86
    53
    24
    17
See reviews for
57
71
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews which are mixed but favorable for the most part. Because of the location & the price, I decided to take a chance. This is not your typical style motel as you can see by the photos. I did follow the room tips & asked for a room near the office & the pool which was a good choice. The location is on a busy street (State) but this really doesn't cause a problem. There is adequate parking & noise was not an issue. The grounds are very nice with small, somewhat segregated, sitting areas which lend themselves to family gatherings for a meal or a drink. The pool area is rather plain but clean & adequate with a privacy hedge around. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the TV adequate, but floor area very small with only one chair. (We spent little time in the room.) The bathroom was also very small, but had been redone & was very fresh looking. (The shower would not accomodate a very heavy individual). The breakfast was satisfactory - muffins, bagels, bread to toast, packaged pastries, fruit cups, & fresh fruit, cereal, juice, coffee & tea. The staff was very pleasant & helpful, especially Tatiana & Mike. Special compliments to them. A few last comments about the location - across the street from shops & restaurants, & about 10 to 15 minutes from the heart of Santa Barbara. The rates were very good during the week, but increase quite a bit on the weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool & office. Rates go way up on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvwpembrokpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just spent the night in SB, arrived earlier than normal check-in after a long drive and was very accommodated by excellent Front Desk staff. Rooms that are around office and pool seem the quietest, being dog friendly is a HUGE PLUS! Not a 4 Star hotel, but the price and location across from a wonderful market/grocer and cafes is awesome. Easy drive from 101 and short drive to Downtown and on to the Beach.

Clean and basic, but also by far the cheapest in the high season for Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the single story around the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My friend and I have been traveling the California coast spending a night in each major city. I booked the room here directly through their website a few weeks in advance and received a confirmation email. When driving to the location after a long day of travel I received a call from this establishment. We were about 20 minutes away at approximately 7:30 pm and they told us they hadn't scheduled our reservation. There was no room for us! We were told we could stay at a few other nearby places for a higher rate. I told them I wouldn't be responsible for the difference. I told them I'd speak to them when I arrived. They kept calling my cell while I was driving! When we got there he had found a room at a motel a few blocks away for a similar rate ($2.50 more not worth argument) and that we could go there and book it ourselves. We were offered to come back in the morning for their continental breakfast and pool since the place we were going to didn't have either and not even real coffee. They said if we ever came back they would give us 10% off! Like I'd bother if I ever make it back there. We are from new York and may never be in California again! I could not believe they didn't do anything more to make up for the inconvenience. So disappointing and frustrating after a long day to show up with no room!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank beckbeck4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Dublin,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent one night there with my wife on my way to San Francisco. Room is basic and aircon is noisy but it was a good size with a kitchenette and comfortable bed. Got a good nights rest before continuing up the coast. Friendly helpful staff, who were more than happy to help out with suggestions of things to do and directions. Nice sized clean pool in the garden which offers another area to relax in. Shops directly across the road offer anything that was forgotten. Breakfast was basic, but had all the essentials. All in all gave me what I was looking for a good nights rest in a comfortable quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blomdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived at night in search of a motel before traveling to the airport.
The room we recieved had it's own little private entrance. It was clean and well kept.
Our surprise was in daylight when we saw the grounds.
There is a lovely pool and the gardens are very well maintained with paths running through them.
If I come back in warmer weather I would definitely consider staying here.
Great atmosphere (usually we just look for a place to go to sleep and leave in the morning).

Room Tip: Ask for one on the reception's side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'm sorry to write a negative review, but this place was very disappointing. My family and I only stayed here for one night, on our way down the California Coast. Santa Barbara seems to have particularly expensive hotels, compared to other areas of the state. We were very disappointed in this hotel -- it seemed to us that the furniture was scuffed and dirty looking, the breakfast food was scant and inedible, and the place didn't seemed well-cared for. We thought that for the price, and compared to other budget motels we tried, this hotel was substandard. However, if you must stay here, the location is fine and there is a great Thai restaurant just a few doors down the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 33PatriciaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Lodge
Sandpiper Lodge
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Inn & Suites

Property: Oasis Inn & Suites
Address: 3344 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2624 (Formerly San Roque Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis Inn & Suites in Santa Barbara, California is located right across from Gelson Supermarket. At the center of Upper States Area, it is about one block from MacKenzie Park. Santa Barbara Golf Club and Earl Warren Show Ground are less than half a mile from the property. The hotel is less than four miles from El Presidio State Historic Park and Downtown Santa Barbara. Palm Park, Santa Barbara Harbor and Beach Bicycle Rentals are within five miles. Surrounded by palm trees, the stucco Oasis Inn & Suites offers complimentary continental breakfasts and complimentary coffee in the lobby. The hotel includes an outdoor pool. Internet access, WIFI free of charge. Guestrooms at Oasis feature mini fridges and coffeemakers. HBO & Cable televisions are provided. Rooms offer hair dryer and wrought-iron board for your convenience. Beautiful and oasis-like garden is a little paradise for your breakfast, gathering and wonderful trip in Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oasis Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Santa Barbara
Oasis Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing