We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mason Beach Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$189
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$218
$172
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
48
118
140
54
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
118
140
54
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast beachcable tvstate streetfloor roomthe main streetsboceanconditionerwharf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 388 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We drove from Las Vegas to Santa Barbara without making a booking and arrived at 8pm and so were anxious to find somewhere. The first motel we came upon was Motel 6 and so were happy to hear they had rooms, not cheap at almost $100, we had stayed in other motels for much less. The room was very small, there was not much insulation between rooms , the bed was old and soft and the towels were like sandpaper. In all not a nice experience and certainly not vfm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The room was small with 2 beds pushed up to each wall, so if you were on the wall side you had to climb over your partner to get out of bed. There are a lot of rooms, many unoccupied (from the number of cars there) so I wondered why they didn't build bigger rooms but fewer of them. We had a comfortable night, the motel is placed very close to the freeway so it's convenient but our room was not noisy. There was a pool which was closed for the winter. Breakfast is not provided. We had dogs so it was a good choice for us though many of the guests obviously don't pick up after their pets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Santa Barbara Hotels can be quite expensive on any weekend & many require a 2 night minimum. This one did not & like many of the other reviews of this hotel, you can't beat the location. We are frequent over night visitors to SB & have stayed at some of the very pricier hotels here. But this time, we made very late reservation for Valentine's Day & didn't want to spend a whole lot. As we were checking in, many 'off the street' people were trying to get rooms & they were saying that everything was sold out in the area. The clerk did give out other suggestions & I thought that it was nice, since there were a couple of visiting Europeans also who had no clue about where they could try and stay in the surrounding area.

This might be a helping factor if you decide to stay here. It is a higher priced Motel 6 because of its location. It is very basic, THERE IS NO shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, coffee machine (coffee is available free at the front desk), microwave, refrigerator or alarm clock, no drawers for clothing in the rooms either. So you'll need to provide these if you stay here. It does have a nice flat screen TV & phone. There is however some interesting stuff in the vending machines that they have besides the usual snacks and there is an ice machine. It does have some pretty thin towels & there were some food stains on the bedspread, but I did notice that they did wash the linens daily on the premises. It was a pleasant enough stay, I'm glad we experienced it for the record & I would spend the night here again if I needed to.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the front rooms facing the ocean. The back rooms face a dull parking lot. Bring ear plugs too as the freeway and train tracks are close to a lot of hotels here & it might be a problem to some people. And that includes the fancy Four Seasons Biltmore! But for their price, they give you a pair in your very pricey package.haha
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CART101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

spent the night on the way back to LA. Great location, across the street from the beach. Room smaller than most Motel 6s, newly remodeled, but already showing a lot of wear and tear. At 10PM a party started in the next room, called the front desk and they said they would take care of it. Had to go next door and ask them to turn down the music, and keep the noise down. The party lasted until well after 1:00AM, a crowd of people on the balcony and music blaring in the room. This is the most expensive motel in the chain and I would have to say the worst experience. Lack of management and maintenance makes this a bad choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zo_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Zo_in_SD,

We apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our Guest Relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Yes it's close to the beach. Yes it's not that expensive (except on a weekend or holiday - we paid $138 with a senior discount). And yes it's close to a lot of things. But it's also very close to 101 and it's not that well insulated so it can be noisy. On a hot night you have a choice of listening to the air conditioner keep you awake or the traffic noise if you crack open the window.

Our room was not ready on time and when we finally got in an hour later it was mostly clean. The bed spread had a bit of a urine odor to it, the sheets were thread bare, and the mattress was just dropped on a wood platform. Not all that inviting, that's for sure.

If you're going to pay a premium rate you'd at least expect the Wi-Fi to be free, right? Wrong. It's $2.99 per day per device! Well, at least they comped me for one device because the room wasn't ready on time.

Would we stay here again? Nope. We like the fact that Motel 6 is pet friendly and it's great that they don't have a surcharge for pets, but I'd rather pay more to have a decent place to stay. The Motel 6 in Redding was in better shape. We've also been staying in Travelodges and so far they've been better value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacNWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear PacNWGuy,

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the noise, bed and linens issues you experienced. These conditions are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews