We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only because of the parking space!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only because of the parking space!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We chose the Hotel 6 in Santa Barbara because it is very difficult to find a parking space for a RV with the Hotel in this city. The staff was very friendly but the rooms are very unloving and uncomfortable and the bed linen was dirty. It is quite far away from the "city center" but very near to the beautiful beach, ok for one night because of the parking problem with the RV but we will avoid Hotel 6 in the future if possible.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isetta1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    106
    131
    48
    27
See reviews for
81
160
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a good stop if you're travelling with dogs because it's just a short block from a great beach.The rooms though small and very basic, have no fridge or microwave but having no carpet is an advantage with wet sandy paws.Also, the staff are very dog friendly. You'd probably need more space if you have more than one dog, unless they're very small. Our room had two beds leaving barely enough floor space for our dog's bed.

Room Tip: some upstairs rooms have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indigo2star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Doesn't have the usual motel amenities (no freezer, cofee machine, microwave, hair drier or shampoo). It is clean and functional though, but for 145 (w tax), you expect more. Oh, and it doesn't have breakfast neither.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manolete_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our room was very small, and I don't really need alot of space. It was OK for our one night but if you were staying with multiple people for mulitple nights it might be a bit snug. Beds weren't very comfortable. It was clean however and only a few steps away from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraK987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked this hotel based on the relative cost compared with others in the area.
At $175 for a Saturday night I have to say, it was overpriced for what was offered.
We had a clean room with a nice sea view and the proximity to the beach cannot be faulted.
The room was modern, however the mattress was extremely thin and uncomfortable, I could have done with another pillow as well. The room was very small, with barely enough room for two people to open a suitcase each.
Very easy access to the beach but wouldn't recommend staying here without a car as there did not appear to be any restaurants within easy walking distance. When asking reception, we were told we needed to drive to find a restaurant.
The cleaners entered our room with no warning or knocking over an hour before check out time - there are no 'do not disturb' signs, however a knock would most definitely have been appreciated!
No fridge or microwave and wifi has to be paid for.
While I liked the beach location and the room was clean, I feel it was overpriced given the very limited facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lou_s99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I booked this Motel 6 for one night, so I wasn't concerned with all the frills and cost of other (higher-dollar) motels. However, when I say "No frills" I wasn't including lack of service, beds that mirrored an Army barracks or absolutely no toiletries or even a coffee maker. This is also the first motel I've stayed in that requires up-front payment...at $175.00 per night - and now I know why!

I arrived at the motel at time of check-in and my room wasn't ready... I was told to go to lunch and when I returned my room would be ready. We returned from our (late) lunch an hour and a half later and were told they 'forgot' to get a room ready for us... My wife and I had to sit by the pool for another hour for a room to be ready. We got into the room and the A/C hadn't been turned on, so it was over 90F in the room. The sheets had cigarette burn holes in them and the bedspreads were dirt stained. After entering the room, a maintenance worker began to demolish concrete in front of our room with a crowbar...this when on for at least an hour! My wife decided to take a shower and noticed that she couldn't lock the bathroom (mini double-swinging) doors - as there were no locks on them??? My wife and I went out to met some friends for dinner and returned to the motel at 8pm. We found the room next to us full of drunken college students throwing things at our common wall, and above us, unruly children running and jumping. I understand that the staff doesn't pick the patrons, but nothing was done to stop this rude behavior, which was noticable to all patons. At 9pm, my wife and I had enough and elected to do the three and a half hour drive home for our sanity! Thank you so much Motel 6 for a wonderful experience. You can rest assure I will NEVER be back - or EVER use a Motel 6 again!

Room Tip: Go to another motel chain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alpine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This motel is located just across from the beach so cannot argue with the location. Room was tidy and fresh just as you need. No fridge or microwave but that was not a deal breaker. Lots of information available in the reception so good for the first time visitor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMG140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
#43 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.2 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
1.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach

Property: Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Address: 443 Corona Del Mar, US 101/El Camino South at Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Motel Six Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Motel Six
Santa Barbara Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing