We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Charming and Sweet”
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We booked 2 rooms on the second floor of the Hotel for one night. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the staff who were cordial, professional and very welcoming. They provided us with information and immediately proceeded to help us select and book dinner reservations at a local restaurant. The lobby is cozy with a fireplace. The Rooms were small but intimate and very charming, full of character. The bed and linens were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was not luxurious but completely acceptable. The hotel also boasts a small workout room and pool as well as a small area with complementary coffee, tea and fruits. There is also a restaurant and we were given an adequate continental breakfast as part of our rate. Because the hotel is close to the highway and a train, you may hear a faint sound of the roadway or the trains but it is by no means disturbing, nor is it in anyway like a city's noise. Overall, this hotel was a gem, and a value for the money we paid. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again should i visit Santa Barbara in the future. - NNM from New York

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NNMESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2007

The Montecito Inn is located beside a busy highway and the small city streets which also can be quite busy, thus making it a bit on the noisy side because of traffic. The rooms, nicely furnished are also tiny, almost cramped. Just a few more miles down the road are better places to stay especially for families.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank SantaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Never left a TripAdvisor message before, but after my latest stay, I was compelled to write something. When traveling, I think there are few things better than staying at a place that has some history to it but has kept itself not just in shape but ahead of the game. The past couple of years I've stayed, I've really liked the new decor in the standard rooms. Kinda reflects what you'd imagine as Santa Barbara's history. For a standard room, you're not going to find a nicer decor. Kinda cool armoires in the room but I was told those are being replaced soon to accommodate wall-hanging TVs. If anyone can pull off a mix of tradition with some sophisticated updating, it's these guys. Case in point, I was surprised to see that the beautiful conference room area where my company has meetings twice a year was made even more beautiful with a renovation they just completed. Such a cool area now. I'm not a designer, but to me, they kinda hit it. Very classy. Much better. Makes you actually want to hang out in the lower lobby. I was asking the front desk about it, and the convo quickly switched to two of their main suites that will be redone and ready at the beginning of May. They have a couple of pictures at the front desk of stuff they're using and sketches. Unreal. Honestly amazing. You know, the place isn't perfect, but no place is. Like, the complimentary continental breakfast is pretty good but they don't serve a full breakfast in the restaurant (great place for lunch or dinner). There is an outstanding breakfast/coffee/latte place literally a block up the street though. Great place, and literally about a 2 min walk up the cute road the hotel is on. Anyway, the hotel is awesome and only getting better. Enjoy! Oh, ask for a bottle of Veuve or Dom Perignon if you're celebrating. They don't display it, but it's on the in-room menu. Another nice little surprise this time around.

3  Thank dcta2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

The Montecito Inn is a small, boutique hotel in lovely Montecito. This hotel stays true to its historic charm.

The room we stayed in was very nice. (I believe it was room 302?) The walkway to the door faced the town and out the windows was a sliver of an ocean view. This room had a full bed and a king bed and two bathrooms. The room itself was roomy and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms were small, but clean. With three women getting ready at the same time, the convenience of two bathrooms was really appreciated!

A continental breakfast was served in the hotel cafe. There were lots of choices and everything was fresh and yummy. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops and just a five minute walk to the beach.

If you're looking for a resort hotel, stay elsewhere. The Montecito Inn is personal and charming. The staff was helpful and friendly and knowledgeable. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rainytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

The Montecito Inn is a rarity in hotels these days-- it is a small boutique inn that is nice, elegant, and clean (none of the musty and tired feeling you typically get from B&Bs). I believe the rooms were recently re-done, as the furniture, bedspread, and lamps appeared new. The bathroom is small, but very cute, with spanish-style tiles. We stayed here before in February 2002, and looked forward to returning.
The drawback was that our room was very noisy, even though we had requested a quiet room. To the management's credit, they said that Room 200 is typically very quiet. However, it is right next to the elevator shaft; the elevator is old fashioned, with a separate grate and door you must open manually. Every time the door was opened (and doors banged) and the elevator moved and stopped, we heard it in our room. Thankfully, the noise stopped at a decent hour at night, but my husband woke up at 5:45am when the first guests began to use the elevator. After we raised it as an issue upon check-out, managment comped us about 20% on the room, which was appreciated (but not why we complained).
Additionally, the room is right above the restaurant or kitchen, because when we first arrived, we heard very loud jazz coming through the floor of our room. Literally, we could make out the singer's voice, our floor was vibrating, etc. Unfortunately, the front desk staffer (who was probably a high school student) was not particularly responsive ("the hotel is full; we can't move you; can't determine where the noise is coming from, etc.), until we demanded that someone come up to our room to hear the music for himself. At that point, the source of the music was miraculously discovered (they cut all music in the restaurant). The episode did leave a bad taste--it took an hour and three separate discussions to resolve.
Room 200 also faces the street, but street noise was the least of our concerns. You also hear footsteps from upstairs, but again, not terrible.
Notwithstanding this (as my husband said, it was almost a cruel joke that we requested a quiet room and we hear elevator noise and pounding music instead), I would still return to the Montecito Inn, but request to stay in the top floor. I do want to support small boutique hotels that are actually nice, and not have everything turn into a Marriott, Westin, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Situated at a busy intersection on the main drag in Montecito, a "town" a couple miles from Santa Barbara proper, this hotel did most things right. The rooms are nicely decorated and sized well enough. The bathroom was small, though had nice tiling and Montecito Inn brand toiletries. We had a deluxe queen room with views to the mountains. Unfortunately, when you book a mountain view, you also look out over the aforementioned main drag, which can be quite busy and loud during the day. It does get quieter in the evening, but because keeping the windowns open for ventilation is both nice and necessary (given the lack of air conditioning), the noise may be bothersome. The main drag has lots of restaurants and shops--we liked being in Montecito, as opposed to Santa Barbara, because it was more quiet and it is an easy walk to the beach from the Montecito Inn.
We used to pool and the little sauna (a nice touch) in the pool area. The continental breakfast is served in the attached cafe and is sufficient, though nothing spectacular. Valet parking is complimentary, which is a nice treat.
All in all, this a good hotel, though I wouldn't feel it was a good value for much beyond the $199 we paid for our room.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Montecito Inn. We decided that we could not take another miserable experience in one of the standard rooms: Tiny, NO A/C and extremely outdated decor. So we booked a "Luxury Room." Our luxury room was large with central air...fabulous!! But!! It is on the first floor, with the windows looking out at the entrance to the 101 freeway. Yes, that's right. We paid $425 a night to listen to all the traffic; and there is soooo much traffic coming and going: tons of huge trucks, (even a cement mixer) buses, you name it. We were literally looking out at three stop signs and a freeway entrance!

The hotel website states that these rooms are "Completely Soundproof." That could not be farther from the truth. We could actually hear the conversations of people walking by our room. We complained to the front desk about the noise, and she just said "Oh, really? I'm sorry." Big help.

The decor is Las Vegas Baroque and our room service tray from dinner sat in the hall for over 24 hours.
We like to stay in nice hotels, and to spend this kind of money for the experience we had is a travesty. If you want to spend time in Montecito- you better start saving your money for a visit to the Four Seasons Biltmore or San Ysidro Ranch. There is no escaping the noise at the Montecito Inn. God help you if you stay in a room with no A/C. (Which is every room except the 7 Luxury Rooms.) This place is way past its prime. What a shame.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Playitasltlays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.6 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
3.9 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
582 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $384 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
January 10, 2018: Due to flash flooding as a result of the Thomas Fire, the Montecito area is in a state of emergency, and the hotel is currently evacuated. The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing